1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by almodovar516, Jan 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. almodovar516

    almodovar516 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    I have a Compaq Presario V2000 laptop that won't connect wirelessly. When I start my unit, the wireless connection icon states I am connected to the network, but receives not packets. When I try to connect wirelessly, I get nothing. HELP!
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands on separate lines, following each one with the Enter key:

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. almodovar516

    almodovar516 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    ISP is Cox Communications
    Broadband modem: Broadcom 802.11b/g
    Router: Linksys Wireless N model WRT160N
    Connection: Wireless
    Wireless Encryption: WEP
    Version & Patch: Windows XP Service Pack 3
    Internet Browser: IE 7

    I'm able to connect using a wired connection. I haven't tried the suggested fixes, nor is the other laptop in my home network having issues connecting.

    Here are the ping results:

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ping 206.190.60.37
    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=13ms TTL=56
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 13ms, Maximum = 16ms, Average = 14ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ping yahoo.com
    Pinging yahoo.com [206.190.60.37] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=12ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=15ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=18ms TTL=56
    Reply from 206.190.60.37: bytes=32 time=16ms TTL=56
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 12ms, Maximum = 18ms, Average = 15ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>nbtstat -n
    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.103] Scope Id: []
    NetBIOS Local Name Table
    Name Type Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    VANESSA-9D61CC2<00> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
    VANESSA-9D61CC2<20> UNIQUE Registered
    MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
    MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : vanessa-9d61cc2
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hr.cox.net
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hr.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-00-55-99
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::216:36ff:fe00:5599%4
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.12
    68.105.29.12
    68.105.28.11
    fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 17, 2009 9:16:38 P
    M
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 18, 2009 9:16:38 PM
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hr.cox.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Automatic Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C0-A8-01-67
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.103%2
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>

    Thanks!
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I need you to run the tests on the failing laptop. I'd also like to see the results of the tests I mentioned.
     
  5. almodovar516

    almodovar516 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    These are from the failing laptop. Should I have run without being connected to the LAN?
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Yep, let's see it with the wireless connection.
     
  7. almodovar516

    almodovar516 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ping 206.190.60.37
    Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>nbtstat -n
    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []
    No names in cache
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : vanessa-9d61cc2
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-36-00-55-99
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF-FF
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%5
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Documents and Settings\Vanessa>
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    In neither ipconfig /all do I see any wireless hardware.

    Does the wireless adapter show as OK under network adapters in Device Manager?

    Does the wireless connection show in Network Connections, and is it enabled?

    If it is integrated is the wireless switched on?
     
  9. almodovar516

    almodovar516 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Adapter showing as ok in device manager
    Wireless connection shows as enabled and the the wireless switch is on. (At least the light is on)
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,994
    First Name:
    Terry
    I think this is the first case I've seen where you can answer those questions affirmatively and yet the wireless does not show at all in the ipconfig /all.

    ipv6 sometimes causes strange problems; I really doubt it is causing this problem, but get rid of it anyhow (you do not need it) ...

    Start - Run - ipv6 uninstall - OK

    In Network Connections right click your wireless and select 'disable.' Then right click and select 'enable.' Do you get any kind of error messages?

    Can you scan or 'view available networks' and see one or more? If you see yours and another one select another one and try to connect. Then select yours and try to connect. What happens or what messages?

    And, please show another ipconfig /all after these changes and attempts.
     
  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Let's do a stack reset as well, just to cover all the bases. I'm with Terry here, it's VERY odd not to see the wireless hardware at all in IPCONFIG!


    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reboot the machine.




    Also, check your Services are Started:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running. Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/791328

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice