1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't connect to wireless networks

Discussion in 'Networking' started by death_wish, May 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. death_wish

    death_wish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    hi. my wireless card used to work great i had no problems until i got spyware message that said something like "winanonymous can delete all spyware malware from you infected computer...... etc" this messae would constanly pop up whenever i would connecct to the internet. it allways disconnected me and restarted my computer. no spyware virus scan detected anything and eventually i was unable to connect to the internet using wireless. i formatted and installed the same op but my wireless woud still not work. but me formatting, i would think would elimiate the possibility of it being a spyware/virus problem anymore. eveytime i try to connect i see "connecting to bswee" then "windows cannot connect diagnose connect to diff network." it isnt my netwrok because i tried to conect to my school's network and i get the same problem. strangely though one morning i got up and was able to connect to my network for about 2 hours then it got dc and couldnt connect again. i think its because my roomate connected to the network with his laptop. i think as long as someone else is on a network i cannot connect to it. im not sure. but its set to automatically obtain ip. i did eveythin possible... updated drivers, formatted and installed xp that didnt work so i formatted again an installed vista sp1. nothin works. can someone help me please. its an intel(r) pro wireless 2200bg.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,838
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have the correct and most current chipset and networking drivers for your PC installed?
     
  3. death_wish

    death_wish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    yes i do.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.


    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?




    Let's see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. death_wish

    death_wish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    under network adapters:
    broadcom 440x 10/100 integrated controller
    intel(r) pro/wireless 2200bg network connection

    all devices working propertly

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Shanks>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Shanks-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    PPP adapter Internet Access:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Internet Access
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . :
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.20.3.152(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 196.3.132.1
    196.3.132.4
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Conn
    ection
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-CE-33-61-6F
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-12-3F-82-59-BE
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{183DB3C7-CE9D-46C3-BDFB-F4ED630F7
    7CC}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:459:32b3:f5eb:fc67(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::459:32b3:f5eb:fc67%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Shanks>
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows Vista.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. death_wish

    death_wish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    did all that already. ok here a list of thing i tried already:

    1reset winsock
    2reset tcpip
    3reinstalled vista
    4formatted installed xp to see if its ah vista prob
    5disabled tcp/ipv6 (i heard theres compatability isues with some routrs)
    6hijackthis (to rule out pyware for the 1000000 time)
    7updated drivers
    8took out wireless card and cleaned it in case it had dust and i looked for visible signs of damage (although its extremely improbable of having any)

    (did not do these things in this order. but they all were done)

    im beginning to think its hardware. like my wireless card is done for or somthing. but i can see networks. thats confusing
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, it's starting to sound like the wireless card isn't working. Are you sure it's not disabled by the on-board switch or function key sequence?
     
  9. death_wish

    death_wish Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    yeah im sure. its enabled. if it is a hardware problem, could it have been caused by the spyware/virus or was it coincidental?
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    spyware/malware could have caused a driver corruption issue, but not a hardware failure.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/709696

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice