1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect to wireless router!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sdnulty, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Hi,

    I have had some problems in the last few days regarding my wireless router. i am using a Sony Vaio VGN-NS30E laptop with a TP-Link Wireless N Adsl2+ modem router. ISP = Utility Warehouse. Network Adapter = Atheros AR928X Wireless Adapter.

    I can connect via Ethernet, but as soon as i try and use my wireless it comes up with "unable to connect". I also have a Print server running in the other room to allow me to print wireless. I have had all the wireless connections working up until this week (monday).

    Called technical support after losing internet connection repeatedly and internet getting slower. ISP know reckons i should be getting up to 11.5mb's per second download, but connecting is the problem now.

    If there is anyone how can help i would be very much grateful.

    Stephen
     
  2. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    ps I am also running Windows 7..................
     
  3. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Got wireless connection working.

    Turns out my workgroup name was not the same as my SSID. changed it so they matched and restarted the computer. all working now.

    Stephen
     
  4. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Ignore last post.....

    Problem back again. i restarted my computer after i got it working and i'm back at square one, unable to connect to wireless router.... :(

    Assistance needed.

    Stephen
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see an xirrus screen shot and ipconfig /all

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    hi,

    i done as requested.


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : stephen-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR928X Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-24-2B-EF-C5-48
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ether
    net Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-BA-EC-22-0A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::49e6:bc9f:ed21:f16d%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 27 January 2011 09:06:10
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 28 January 2011 09:06:10
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251665850
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-C0-4C-F9-00-1D-BA-EC-22-0A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B782F2DC-03A4-43F3-A193-911035262425}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 8:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:73b8:b7:2350:fd99:b583(Prefer
    red)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::b7:2350:fd99:b583%14(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Reusable Microsoft 6To4 Adapter:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\stephen>

    the name of my network is "Praxis"

    I also noticed that yesterday i send a print to the print server around 11am and at 6pm the printer finallly picked it up and printed my documents. not sure if this has anything to do with the network issues.

    stephen
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    The adapter working and on xirrus you can see the signals
    but it says media disconnected
    the wireless switch on mine its at the front - I suspect it is on (if off i would not expect to see anything on xirrus)

    What firewall do you have on the pc

    Do a TCP/IP reset see below

    i would log into the router and take the security OFF and see if it now connects

    also post back the status of all the services - see below

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    The please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.


    Post back the results here - we need to know these commands worked correctly
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Services}
    post back the status - started/stopped and automatic/manual
    Check your Services are Started on all PCs:
    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation

    Note: You can check the services in Control Panel, Administrative Tools, Services.

    All of these services should be started, and their startup type should be automatic (or perhaps manual).

    If a service is not running, open it's properties and check the dependencies. Check each of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running.

    Checking the event log is also a good idea here, there may be clues to what is failing.
    Start > control panel > administrative tools > event Viewer

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Hi,

    I have Zone Alarm firewall and AVG Antivirus Free Edition 2011 running.
    Turned off security and had the same result. Unable to connect.

    TCP/IP repair
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\stephen>netsh winsock reset catalog
    Sucessfully reset the Winsock Catalog.
    You must restart the computer in order to complete the reset.
    C:\Users\stephen>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Interface, OK!
    Restart the computer to complete this action.
    C:\Users\stephen>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.
    C:\Users\stephen>

    Wireless connection connected and lost connection a couple of minutes later……then regained connection.

    Service
    All services are automatic with a couple being manual like “network Connections”.

    Event Viewer
    Checked Event viewer, but don’t know how to save it for you to look at or how to read it and find any problems.

    Ps I have noticed in my wireless network connections I have 2 Praxis’s, “Praxis” and “Praxis 2”. Could this be causing any conflicts and is it possible to remove one?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    missed this first time as the screen shot was quite small
    theres a few signals on channel 1 - log into the router and change to use wireless channel 11 - all the channels on 1 may be causing the interference
     
  10. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    tried changing channel, still no joy. my SSID appears sometimes , but is missing most of the time. any other suggestions?

    stephen
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see another xirrus screen shot
    when you say the ssid disappears can you still see others ?
    is so,
    I would do a factory reset on the router and then reconfigure again - log in and make a note of all the settings - then use the reset button to go back to factory reset
     
  12. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    I've already tried resetting the router, in fact I've reset it almost daily. Still not working. Done virus checks too and it's not picking anything up. I've also found that it does connect to the router periodically, however the connection does nit stay for long before coming up limited access then disconnecting.

    Could it be an ISP problem? I contacted my ISP on Tuesday and they told me the line was fine. May have to contact them again I think.

    Stephen
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    make and model of the router
    we need to know if the wireless is disappearing or if you cannot connect/see the SSID on one machine

    If the Sony can see all the SSID but not yours - then it may be a router issue
    if the sony cannot see ANY SSID - then its the router - hence the question to see the SSID when the wireless is missing

    if its just wireless and the LAN connection works its not likely to be an ISP issue

    whats the status of all the lights on the router when working and when failed
     
  14. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Ok, attached is another copy of Xirrus images.

    The lights on the router are showing solid, yet my network is not available. my laptop is less than 4 meters from the router.

    LAN works, but also has lost connection occasionally.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. sdnulty

    sdnulty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Router make and model is "TP-Link 300Mbps Wireless N ADSL2+" Modem Router.

    Model no. TD-W8960N
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/977060

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice