1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect via wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mvanders, Jan 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Hello.

    I'm running an HP a1210n desktop with Win xp sp2, ie7, with Verizon DSL internet through a Westell Versalink 327W router.

    We have three laptops in the house that can all get to the web just fine. On the desktop I reinstalled windows about two months ago after a virus attack, and although i've had intermitten web access, it's spotty. Now I'm unable to connect at all.

    When I open IE7, the home page (google.com) hangs, status bar takes about 2 min. to get halfway, then it displays the "IE cannot display webpage" screen.

    I followed the instructions on that page for "diagnose connection problems", but it says it can reach the internet ok and access microsoft.com (big help).

    After looking at some other posts on TSG, I tried pinging and I get correct responses pinging google, etc. When trying to connect to 192.168.1.1, I again get "IE cannot display webpage", whereas on my laptops it goes right to the Versalink Gateway page.

    Ran an ipconfig on command screen, and got this:

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig
    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.47
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=4ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time=3ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 3ms, Maximum = 4ms, Average = 3ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>


    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)
     
  2. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : HP_a1210n_Mark
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : myhome.westell.com
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-9A-31-03
    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapt
    er
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-70-AA-7C-99
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.47
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, January 21, 2011 2:27:08 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 22, 2011 2:27:08 P
    M
    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if the machine is able to ping google then I suspect a firewall maybe blocking
    what firewall do you have or ever had on the PC - Norton , McAfee etc

    also post back whats in
    control panel
    internet options
    connections tab
    Lan setting
     
  4. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    McAfee VirusScan Enterprise is installed, says nothing about a firewall. Windows firewall is turned on.

    LAN Settings are attached (I hope)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,477
    First Name:
    Terry
    Your proxy settings are correct (none selected).

    Why did you not update to SP3 and additional 100 or so critical updates after the reinstall?

    Try an IE Reset.
     
  6. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    TerryNet:
    Your proxy settings are correct (none selected).

    Why did you not update to SP3 and additional 100 or so critical updates after the reinstall? I try to keep my desktop consistent with setup at my office--but I see my work laptop has been upgraded to SP3, so I'll do that on the desktop. As far as updates, yeah, when I reinstalled Win XP and the SPs, it did download/install a boatload of updates...I think 70 or 80 at the time.

    Try an IE Reset. I did this...same results (IE status bar hangs at 50%, then 2-3 min later "can't display webpage."
    [name of spammer removed by mod]:
    Did you follow the instructions on the disk that came with your router? No, but I will, and report back.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,477
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try Safe Mode with Networking.

    You need not pay any attention to the spammer's one liner. He just spent the day trying for a high post count.
     
  8. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Sorry for the long delay getting back. Between snow, ice, power out, sick, and work, well take your pick as to reason.

    Anyway...I have been poking around in both the router settings and the HP desktop that can't connect. I have uninstalled/reinstalled the desktop's Linksys WUSB54G wireless adapter, using WEP 64 bit as before, and confirming correct SSID and pass phrase.

    The Linsys net monitor on desktop displays "You are connected to the access point, but the Internet cannot be found."

    Not surprisingly, opening an IE7 window on the desktop displays "IE cannot display the webpage."

    When I connect to the router from my laptop via http://192.168.1.1/ it lists the three laptops in the house as part of the network, but not the desktop.

    Since all the other pcs are connecting and surfing without issues, I'm certain there is a setting problem on the desktop, but dang if I can find it. Thanks for any suggestions...
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,477
    First Name:
    Terry
    This web site says something about a firewall. :) If it hasn't been updated it's probably blocking networking now even if it can't take credit for the original problem.

    Have you tried Safe Mode with Networking yet?
     
  10. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Ok, I rebooted in Safe Mode w/Networking. Not seeing the wireless monitor and same response from browser...can't display webpage.

    Re McAfee...I need the "sheepish" emoticon. I think I meant there was nothing in any of the "helpful" McAfee screens about firewall status.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,477
    First Name:
    Terry
    In Safe Mode with Networking you have to use XP's WZC.

    If this is a company PC you may not be able to do the following. Uninstall McAfee and run the Removal Tool. You can reinstall it after testing.

    Hmmm, I'm not sure that Removal Tool works with that Enterprise version. May have other ways of cleaning up after that.
     
  12. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Won't let me uninstall McAfee while in Safe Mode. I removed McAfee and McAfee agent after normal reboot.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,477
    First Name:
    Terry
    After running the below repairs please attach a screen shot of the Networks page of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and show another ipconfig /all.

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2 or SP3.

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  14. mvanders

    mvanders Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Ok, done as instructed. Xirrus and ipconfig attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. blakcshadow

    blakcshadow

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    458
    the IP address 169.254.166.1 is automatically assigned by the OS when there is no address assigned by either DHCP or static IPs. Try restarting the PC again and see if that helps
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976057

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice