1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect wii with netgear wireless adapter

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dubess, Feb 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    OK - so look at the IP numbers there - Ipaddress ipv4 and also the default gateway address
    Now thats your public IP provided by the ISP - no issue having it here btw

    Now that is the IP that the router will get on the WAN side (ISP side of the router) - now in order to share that IP the router gives each device a different IP number - usually starting 192.168.x.x

    in your case on a previous post it showed the same IP - which means the router is not working as a router - now that maybe because its broken , or setup to do that

    as you cannot loginto the router at all - i suggest you reset it to factory condition by using the button on the back
     
  2. dubess

    dubess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    i reset it but have not connected it yet. still just modem to pc connection. should i try to reconnect? I can not find the cd that came with my router.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    do not need a CD to get it to work

    You should now be able to connect a PC to the router - Nothing else (except power) - just a PC and loginto the router page from the pc
     
  4. dubess

    dubess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    are there any rules to what to connect first? i've read other posts on other sites that say you have to power down the modem, unhook the cable, etc. do I have to power down either the modem or router? Or just unplug the cable from the modem, plug into router, then plug cable from router to pc?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    sometimes it works straight away - others you need to do a powercycle of everthing - in which case you
    turn on the modem first and allow to settle
    then turn on the router and allow to settle
    then turn on devices

    In some case you have to disconnect the cable from the modem - with power off and then reconnect the cable to modem and then power everything on in order

    can you log into the router on its own?
     
  6. dubess

    dubess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    the router is not connected (except power) - would I be able to log on?
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    if you connect a PC by cable to the router lan port - you should be able to loginto the router configuration screen as described in previous post

     
  8. dubess

    dubess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    just so i'm sure...unplug my modem and plug my router (the cable that is plugged into the connection to computer port) into my pc?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    Turn off the router
    on the back of the router you have a number of connections
    one set labelled - connections to computers and then numbered 1,2,3 & 4
    plug an erthernet cable into anyone of those four and the other end into a PC etherent port
    The power connected to the Power DC input
    Nothing connected to the connection to modem socket
    power on the Router

    Now open and internet explorer browser on the PC and type into the address bar
    a login page for the router should appear on the PC IE page
    now you should be connected to the router configuration pages
     
  10. dubess

    dubess Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Finally! I got on my routers web page. Had to clone the mac address and now it works! Thank you so much for all your help!!!!!
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,977
    works - as in you are now connected to interent from the PC and the wireless on the wii - which I think is where we started
    correct

    if so
    (y) thanks for letting us know
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/979198