1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant Connect Wireless at home

Discussion in 'Networking' started by smilezfordayz, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    I have a Dell Laptop that will connect to any public or other home wirless network but will no longer connect to my own house(network). It recognizes my Network name, I can connect to the internet if I plug in the cable. But wireless says no connection. I have did the troubleshoot which suggests I restart my router(Netgear). I have done this many times. I have retarted the modem and router. doing this sometimes gives me internet for a few minutes on the wireless network. I have done a ping :confused:(I think thats what the cmd and further instructions from Dell support was). I have changed my firewall and McAfee options. The ping shows "media disconnected". Not sure if that helps the problem. I have read many threads and tried everything I can think of. Our desktop is wired and internet works fine, just this sudden(5month issue) with my laptop. I checked our IP address to make sure there isnt a conflict or that we have the same address. Please help! I would love to use my laptop around the house instead of being stuck to the desk for the hard wire.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Any thing else connected to the wireless and working
    gave you tried logging into the router and removing any wireless security and see if you can now connect

    lets see the following



    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://wpc.475a.edgecastcdn.net/00475A/XirrusWiFiInspectorSetup.1.2.0.exe

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks for your response. I dont have anything else connected to the wireless. No other devices..well actually, I have a Playstation that we use for the internet browsing and watching Netflix...I assume thats using the wireless right? I will try all the instructions you have stated and reply back soon. thanks again.
     
  4. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxx
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Mixed
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1515 Wireless-N Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : xxxxxxxxx
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxx
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, November 11, 2011 10:19:06 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, November 12, 2011 10:19:03 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234890596
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-B4-5C-DB-00-25-64-7F-AB-86
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{38A06FE5-4A7A-4094-9F97-CF734F6B92E8}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #5
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxx
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : xxxxxxxxx
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{26A32C98-4CB7-441E-8F53-3BCB6FEE2F39}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{8EADB2EE-5AB9-4901-B6D6-985FEFA25CCB}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #6
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : xxxxxxxxxxx
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i suspect you need dhcp enabled
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    to do that following the following
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Setup to Automatically get IP and DNS

    XP
    --
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for XP
    follow these instructions - if wireless - choose the wireless connection
    http://www.srikanthkoka.com/lan.html

    VISTA
    -----
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Vista
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/Change-TCP-IP-settings

    WINDOWS 7
    ---------
    Setup to Automatically get an IP and DNS (DHCP) - for Windows 7
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/Change-TCP-IP-settings
     
  6. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    I tried to download the WiFi inspector and for some reason it says its downloading and never finishes..this is a new problem I have been having lately with downloads. I will figure that out... So until i do, I cant post the screen shots or download the dang thing.
    I wsay your reply about the DHCP..i will do what you are instructing now and let you know..
     
  7. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Just showing you why its taking me forever to download your suggested info. I hit download and it goes really fast(takes about 5sec) then it gets to 1sec remaining and sits there..never downloads. I know this is not the issue we are discussing, just letting you know why im so slow at getting it done. trying to download...
     

    Attached Files:

  8. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    I followed your DNS setup and everything was already selected on automatic. I included the screen shots to show you where i went and what I did
     

    Attached Files:

  9. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Here is one more shot of where i went and what i did for the dns setup for both the IPv4 and IPv6 DNS. I noticed I have a wireless connection(dell) and a wireless connection 2 that is always disabled(not connected)..i went under the disabled one and checked the DNS. Attached is what it showed me. I changed it to automatic instead of using the following address that is displayed..not sure if that helps. so far it hasnt. thanks again for your time.I will be unable to reply until tomorrow morning
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Dantonyevenever

    Dantonyevenever

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Looks like you are connectd by cable. Remove the network cable, goto CMD window, release IP address and renew it. Let's see what happen.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    The connection of interest is the actual wireless adapter, and that already has/had a dynamic connection. The one with the static is the miniport, and I don't know if that matters. So, I think that was a false alarm; I am not criticizing etaf, as I make the same mistake myself.

    Disable encryption on your router and try to connect that way. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect. etaf already advised this, but I didn't notice your confirmation that you had tried.
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    opps missed that - thanks terrynet
     
  13. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    When I did a renew and release, the configuration states: No operation can be performed on wireless Network Connection while it has its media disconnected. I was unable to get internet access still after I attempted that suggestion. Nothing happened. But thank you.
     
  14. smilezfordayz

    smilezfordayz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thank you, all of you. I really appreciate the help. I thought I did everything that etaf suggested, besides the Wifi inspector download because Im having issues getting it fully downloaded. But I will re-read and do the suggestions over. (oh! i see..his first response:"gave you tried logging into the router and removing any wireless security and see if you can now connect
    lets see the following" I thought when he was saying "lets do the following..that was the instructions for removing the security. Duh..now that I think about it..Its clearly not!)..I will do that part now. Sorry. Did I do the IP and DNS setup to automatic the right way? I am not great with computers so i appreciate the step by step advice. Im not sure exactly how to disable encryption but I will look into it(google it). I thought that was what I did when I set the DNS and everything to automatic so sorry for not thinking. Im so "dumb" when it comes to this stuff. Its really like learning a new language, to me. Thanks again for all the help
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,819
    First Name:
    Terry
    I'm pretty sure your connection is set for dynamic, and your DNS settings are OK. If not, we'll revisit them after you try w/o encryption.

    Consulting your router user manual (on CD or Netgear's web site) is more efficient than web searching for this. Login to the router (preferably using a computer connected by ethernet), navigate to the wireless section, and set the Encryption (or Security) mode to 'none' or 'off' or similar.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026367

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice