1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect wirelessly but CAN via LAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nw_tn_mom, Sep 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nw_tn_mom

    nw_tn_mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Yesterday morning, I awoke to find that none of our three wireless computers could connect wirelessly to the internet whereas they all worked perfect the night before until the power flickered. I am attempting via a Gateway laptop, Dell laptop (the one I am on currently) and a desktop. None can connect but all can see the router (linksys wrt160n). I have rebooted the modem, router, computers, called linksys support who said all my settings were fine, have disabled the wireless security and I am sure a ton of other things. I do not know what else to do. I should also add that I connected an old linksys B router and it worked for a short while and then dropped the signal and could no longer connect. Please help!!


    Here is what I got when I ran ipconfig

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\drenda>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : drenda-laptop
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.invalid

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-60-E2-0A-61
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-23-AB-C8-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::65fa:573b:b594:60fb%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, September 29, 2010 9:29:02 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, September 30, 2010 9:29:01 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 201333795
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-0E-E5-3B-02-00-1C-23-AB-C8-E8

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 17:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain.invalid
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : domain.invalid
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.domain.invalid
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,876
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sounds like the router may have a problem , it would be worth doing a factory reset on the router
    perhaps a problem with the modem as well

    The ipconfig /all you have shown is for an ethernet connection showing a correct setting - what PC is that from?

    ANYWAY -
    Lets start with a PC connected to the router by cable - would you post an ipconfig /all for that and also the ping tests - see below


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results

    into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and

    post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results

    into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and

    post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above

    ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Also for the wireless , Lets see a xirrus for the wireless
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program

    across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Then run the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed

    for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you

    click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also

    post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open

    the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to

    suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button

    to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. nw_tn_mom

    nw_tn_mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    The above ipconfig is from the dell laptop the is connected via ethernet which no longer works. I swapped out the wireless n for the old wireless b router and still nothing via ethernet nor wireless. I an responding via my Blackberry. I have reset modem, router and computer. What do I need to do now?
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,876
    First Name:
    Wayne
    try these ping tests

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results

    into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and

    post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above

    ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. nw_tn_mom

    nw_tn_mom Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    I have the problem fixed. I called the phone company this morning after I found out I was not receiving a dsl signal from my modem, although all the lights were on. They swapped out the old modem for a new wireless/router combo but I am no longer running N...am on G now but we will survive on that for now. He had no idea why neither of my routers would connect, even after he swapped out modems before settling on the new combo on. Thanks for your time.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,876
    First Name:
    Wayne
    (y) thanks for letting us know
    I dont suppose N or G will make much difference to your internet connection - what's your download speed ?

    you can mark solved " Mark Solved" button at top of thread
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/953319

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice