1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect wirelessly

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by alphaclass, Sep 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. alphaclass

    alphaclass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I'm having the same problem as Stephen1125 with a few minor differences......I'm using a new Dell Inspiron 1521 with Vista. My internet is Verizon DSL, a westell dsl modem using a dlink di-624c router. I can run xp no problems too. The new laptop will not connect to the router or the modem directly or wirelessly, although it sees my connection as excellent, it will not connect. Here's the kicker: I'm able to connect wirelessly using a neighbors unsecured connection linksys that is at least 7 houses away - 2 bars low connectivity.
    I can only guess that the problem is in some type of configuration with vista that stops me from connecting to my own home network.

    has nothing to do with aol protocol...i have aol billed directly and not related to dsl service.

    i have tried almost everything from disconnecting all firewalls, tcp6, tcp4 etc..... nothing seems to work. just short of buying new dsl modem and router but not sure if that will make a difference....seems to be a vista connectivity problem.

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
     
  2. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    You really need to start your own thread and I have asked a MOd to sort you out so as not to dilute the users' attention and support here.
    But can anyone connect to your router wirelessly? I have had issues with your router with totally losing connectivity and also have you upgraded the firmware which they do frequently on DLink 624.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

    I've created a new thread for your issue here.

    Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

    Thanks for your cooperation.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  5. pcrepairguy

    pcrepairguy

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    Is the windoes firewall off? You dont need it if you have a firewall. Try to uninstall AOL and see if you can connect. Please do the following:

    Go to a command prompt (start, all programs, accesories, run) and type CMD, press enter
    At the DOS screen type ipconfig /all press enter
    Cut and paste the results here....thx
     
  6. alphaclass

    alphaclass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    i tried with all firewalls turned off...windows and norton security which came with the laptop. this laptop is straight out of the box with no changes except what i have tried to get connectivity, this is the current ipconfig..................thanks for all your help ..Tom

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Linda-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.nj.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-26-2C-A0-C0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controlle
    r
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-23-86-0D-D8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{6CE0BA8F-5C08-4BE3-9695-6315D281F
    DD5}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Did you do the fix I posted the link to?
     
  8. alphaclass

    alphaclass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    not yet.....i'm trying to copy the reg now
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Note that the instructions are a bit tricky, you want to set that flag to 0, not the 1 that they first mention. Keep reading past that part. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Can't connect wirelessly
  1. jak834
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    354
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/622459

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice