1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't connect with encryption enabled

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MjWEin, Apr 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MjWEin

    MjWEin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I've got the exact same problem.

    I set up the Belkin and Comcast as an unsecured network and everything works. When I try and secure the network and reset everything, the modem won't connect.

    It sounds weird but it's correct. The wireless works and the computer connects to it. But the Belkin router will not connect to the internet through the modem, even though none of those settings have been changed.

    The "internet" light will show a little activity when I first reset the modem, but after about 60 seconds it goes off and stays off.

    I'm going to upgrade the firmware, then call Comcast if necessary tonight. If i get any resolution, I'll update.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

    I've created a new thread for your issue here.

    Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

    Thanks for your cooperation.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    What country are you located in.
    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    What is the expected Upstream/Downstream speed for your ISP Connection?
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Make and model of your computer.
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.

    If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?

    If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following commands:

    PING 216.109.112.135

    PING yahoo.com

    NBTSTAT -n

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,517
    First Name:
    Terry
    "I set up the Belkin and Comcast as an unsecured network and everything works. When I try and secure the network and reset everything, the modem won't connect."

    On the surface this sounds like it has to be a router hardware or software bug. What encryption are you trying (WEP, WPA or WPA2)? Please also try whichever other ones are available.

    See if there is a firmware upgrade for the router.
     
  5. MjWEin

    MjWEin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the help guys.

    I tried a few more tricks before I found a Lynksis router under my bed and gave up on the Belkin.

    Some searches show there is just a compatibility issue between the Arris modem that Comcast is giving out and the Belkin F5D7230.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/706255

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice