1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cant connect xp pc to steel machine running nt4

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by PK-her0, Oct 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,528
    hi guys,

    have an old xp box thats connected to a special machine that handles steel cutting
    apparently it runs nt4...but i cant seem to exit the software...but i will contact the manufacturer if i have to

    the old box access the shares on the steel machine no problem
    but my new box doesnt

    is there a way to export network settings or see how the old box is connecting to steel machine? or do you think it will have to be configured on the nt4 steel machine

    the error i get is "you do not have permission to use resources on this machine...bla bla bla"
    the old box connecting doesnt have a password on the user account, so i dont thinks its a permission thing
    we dont have a server / domain

    just need to connect to a folder on the steel cutter to dump cad files on for the machine to read and cut accordingly

    any info on how to tackle this appreciated

    im guessing i will need to get into the nt4 box...

    thanks
    PK
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    did the steel cutter now the name of the PC or have any other authorisation for the old box ?

    so the shares on the steel machine are the ones that set the permissions
     
  3. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,528
    hey etaf...thanks for answering

    i dont know cause i havent yet accessed the steel machine...i was just hoping to connect the new box the same way the old box was...on the old box i can see all shares of the steel box...new one gives an error
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,149
    First Name:
    Derek
    opened by request
     
  5. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,528
    hi guys,

    i had this issue a few months ago...and didnt really need to fix it...but now the machine connecting to the share is getting old and giving problems.

    i am able to access the metal machine nt4 interface...and the folder is shared with everyone and everyone has full permission...and the old machine is connecting to it no problem

    but my new pc gets prompted for password and username...the only difference i can see between the two is that
    the old one runs xp sp2...and my new machine is on sp3...could this cause a problem?

    any help appreciated please.
    pk
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you need to have XP on SP3 on both PCs , as there are a lot of fixes and malware/virus vulnerabilities fixed in SP3
     
  7. PK-her0

    PK-her0 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,528
    yes etaf but i cant upgrade the NT4 workstation im trying to connect to...its on a machine for metal work...
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,875
    First Name:
    Wayne
    do you have the machines in the same workgroup - new machine should be in the same workgroup as the old machine

    does the NT4 PC have a username and password on it ?
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1074050

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice