1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't delete files

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by americamba, Dec 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    685
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6200 @ 2.13GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1844 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 730 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 260242 MB, Free - 208221 MB; D: Total - 29690 MB, Free - 28507 MB;
    Motherboard: LENOVO, MoutCook
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
    ...........................

    I'm told that the file is open somewhere else but I don't understand where. How do I delete it? thanks, Frank
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  3. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    685
    thanks, . I have used unlocker in the past and it worked but now it crashes. the beta worked better than what you sent me to. But I don't remember where I got it. thanks for the help. we'll see what I can do now. frank
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
  5. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    685
    Phantom,

    in #2 of "take ownership" it says:
    2. In the elevated command prompt, type the command below and press Enter.
    NOTE: Substitute full path of file with the full path of the file that you want to take ownership of within quotes.
    takeown /f "full path of file"

    Is the "elevated prompt" what you get by the following steps: Start>all programs > accessories > command prompt?

    thanks, Frank
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Right-click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open an elevated command prompt.
     
  7. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    685
    Phantom,

    I get the command prompt black box and I put in cd c:\users\fra\mydocuments\book\createspace to get to the directory and then I put in the following very carefully ;
    takeown /f c:\users\fra\my documents\book\createspace\sayings fdor cover.doc where fra is my name, book is folder, createspace is folder under book and sayings fdor cover.doc is the file .

    as a result i get: "invalid argument/option" - ' documents\book\createspace\sayings' .It seems that it doesn't like split up ( more than one word) folder and/or file names. Might that be it? I'd appreciate your look at it.

    thanks, Frank
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1030405

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice