1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't delete temporary internet files!

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by K-Man, Sep 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. K-Man

    K-Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    404
    Disk clean-up utility won't delete all my temporary internet files! This has never happened before. I wonder if it's because I had to reset my computer last night, when something locked up my whole browser and desktop (except the mouse), and tried loading into my system.

    I couldn't access anything... not the stop button, not the "X"(close) button, not the start menu... nothing. And this "loading" message comes up, and starts trying to load into my system. I have all my IE settings on HIGH, and only allow downloads on a case by case basis (like when I'm updating something). Now; all my temporary stuff from last night is still there, even after running disk clean-up.

    Am I going to have to result to the DOS deltree broadsword here?

    I can't even view these files, except in the browser of my photo editor (Novalabs Photo Explosion), and it only shows image files. Who knows what else is in there? Under "My Computer", I open the temporary internet folder, and it shows the sub-folder called "content", but opening this one shows absolutely nothing, and there are about 8 sub-folders in there! If I try to delete the temporary internet folder, I get a warning about it being a system item, and that my other programs may no longer work properly. This can't be entirely true however, as I have used the DOS deltree command to delete the whole thing before, and it just created a new one!

    Is this a security issue (ie. spyware or such), or is it something else? :confused:
     
  2. gregory777

    gregory777

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    My guess is that somebody has hacked into your computer, but I could be wrong.
     
  3. K-Man

    K-Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    404
    Well; I used my photo editor to delete all the image files from those folders, but I still don't understand why "My Computer" won't show those sub-folders.

    Under C: > Windows > Temporary Internet, there is a folder named "Content IE5". I can view this, but it doesn't show the EIGHT sub-folders in there. I used the "Find" program, and it found 5 of the 8, and says they all contain the same thing: two discarded icons (IE insists on replacing all the icons in my favorites list with its own). I know there is more in there though, because my photo editor browser shows an index.dat file.

    Here's a screenshot of those illusive folders as they appear in my photo browser. The arrows are mine, and point to the folders on the left, and the index.dat file on the right. Hope it might help get me some answers...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dust Sailor

    Dust Sailor

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,735
    Is this a security issue (ie. spyware or such), or is it something else? To find out go here to Rollin Rog Security Tools http://forums.techguy.org/t110854.html Choose an on line virus scan an dcarry it out . Download and setup according to the tutorials Ad-Aware Se , Spy Bot Search and Destroy Run the m anf fix/quarantine what they find . Download Spyware Blaster to protect your computer . If you are using XP activate the firewall or download one fron the Security Tools page . If you do not have an up to date antivirus program download AVG from the Security Tools page set up and keep it updated regularly for a daily scan . After doing the above try to do a disk cleanup again Delete recycle bin as well . Let us know how you make out .
     
  5. K-Man

    K-Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    404
    I keep forgetting to mention my apps.

    I have Adaware free edition, Spybot S & D, Norton av, and Panicware pop-up blocker.

    Can Spybot be used to PREVENT spyware?

    Thanks again for the advice!
     
  6. K-Man

    K-Man Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    404
    I found a way to access those folders under "my computer"!

    If I manually add the slash after the "address", it brings them up. After choosing one of those, I add another slash. Here's what I get...

    These sub, sub, sub folders seem to be empty though. :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/273044

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice