Can't detect Drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

RedRebel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
78
My computer can't detect a WD 6.3 GIG drive. I downloaded WD's
lifeguard tools and booted my computer with the disk it made. It came up can't detect a valid Fat32 Partition. But I managed to run the program and it said the the drive was OK How can I resolve this mess?:rolleyes:
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Is this a new drive or has it been in use on your PC and just quit working? If it's new, Has the drive been formatted?
 

RedRebel

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
78
Its a used drive I bought on Ebay. The fellow said it was ready to be formated? I was wondering if it could of been formatted for NTFS, if so my machine would not recognize it. How could I unformat the NTFS and Put Fat32 on IT?
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
If it is an NTFS partition you would need to FDISK it and delete the non DOS partition and then create a new partion on it.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
If the WD disk recognized it, a boot disk should. Have you tried that?
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Try this ... Go to Start|run and type in fdisk and OK. Hit enter when asked about large disk support.

If you have an option 5 available, type "5" and hit enter. now type "2" and hit enter. Now type "4" and hit enter. The info dispalyed will show what type of partition you have on the slave drive.

If at the start of the above process you do not have an option 5 present, then you are not detecting the slave drive in BIOS. Whole different question. :D Post pack with what you find.

Also here are some site links with good reading about fdisk, partitioning and formatting.

http://www.techhowto.com/How_to/os/part.php

http://aumha.org/win4/a/parts.htm

http://fdisk.radified.com/

BTW... What OS are you running?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top