1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't detect Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RedRebel, Sep 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RedRebel

    RedRebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    My computer can't detect a WD 6.3 GIG drive. I downloaded WD's
    lifeguard tools and booted my computer with the disk it made. It came up can't detect a valid Fat32 Partition. But I managed to run the program and it said the the drive was OK How can I resolve this mess?:rolleyes:
     
  2. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Is this a new drive or has it been in use on your PC and just quit working? If it's new, Has the drive been formatted?
     
  3. RedRebel

    RedRebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Its a used drive I bought on Ebay. The fellow said it was ready to be formated? I was wondering if it could of been formatted for NTFS, if so my machine would not recognize it. How could I unformat the NTFS and Put Fat32 on IT?
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    If it is an NTFS partition you would need to FDISK it and delete the non DOS partition and then create a new partion on it.
     
  5. RedRebel

    RedRebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    If my computer can't tell it exist's how can I FDISK IT?:rolleyes:
     
  6. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    If the WD disk recognized it, a boot disk should. Have you tried that?
     
  7. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,836
    Try this ... Go to Start|run and type in fdisk and OK. Hit enter when asked about large disk support.

    If you have an option 5 available, type "5" and hit enter. now type "2" and hit enter. Now type "4" and hit enter. The info dispalyed will show what type of partition you have on the slave drive.

    If at the start of the above process you do not have an option 5 present, then you are not detecting the slave drive in BIOS. Whole different question. :D Post pack with what you find.

    Also here are some site links with good reading about fdisk, partitioning and formatting.

    http://www.techhowto.com/How_to/os/part.php

    http://aumha.org/win4/a/parts.htm

    http://fdisk.radified.com/

    BTW... What OS are you running?
     
  8. RedRebel

    RedRebel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Windows98Se Ray. I'll try the Links!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166136

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice