1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't do anything

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Gabrielstaocupao, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I currently have windows xp on a computer my sister had given to me. Then a couple months later i tried to turn it on as usual and then it said missing ntldr and it tells me to restart and I've restarted it several times but it always tells me the same thing what should I do please I really need my computer ide really appreciate it alot if you could help me. happy new year.
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    Do you have the XP disc and is this a Desktop PC?
     
  3. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I don't have the disk and it's a laptop
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    It sounds like a dead hard drive to me. Download some diags for the make of hard drive to verify that it is bad.
     
  5. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    How do I know which one is tue make of the harddrive.....
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
  7. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Where can I get an installer disk if mine broke....
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What is the make and model of that PC?
     
  9. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
  10. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    The model no is averatec 1000 series
     
  11. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Try tapping F4 immediately on startup and see if it gives you any options
     
  12. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I got pheinix cme console but the mouse pointer won't move at all
     
  13. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Okay what should I click on
     
  14. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    What options do you have?

    Please note that if it does have a recovery partition it will erase all existing data
     
  15. Gabrielstaocupao

    Gabrielstaocupao Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    I have protect/recover......troubleshooting.......settings.....support.....check for options.....and help
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Can't anything
  1. vajovic
    Replies:
    30
    Views:
    1,534
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972387

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice