1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't download anything anywhere?HELP

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Snows, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Hello there people of Tech Support Guy.

    I have registered to ask a question which I really really need help with.

    I will try my best to explain the problem in as few words as possible because I am sure you all haven't got time to read paragraphs and paragraphs.

    So, my computer wont download anything.

    Example: If I go onto Google Chrome and simply go to download firefox, it takes the few minutes to download it, but when it finishes downloading it just simply says "Blocked". ( 17.9GB/17.9GB Blocked ). The GB is a guess, but thats what it says.

    So I downloaded firefox off of another computer, put it on a usb and brought it to this computer and tried downloading stuff through firefox, same thing. I also tried downloading stuff through Internet Explorer and it says that my Security Settings wont allow it.

    As a result I googled it, lowered my security settings, same problem. I have tried everything! My step dad (who is pretty experienced with computers) cant seem to find the problem neither.

    Could it be a virus? I've done virus scans but nothing gets picked up. I just downloaded avast ( off another computer, usb ect) and am doing a full computer scan now.

    Also to note, its windows 7. I haven't even used 1/8th of the space available. I don't download dodgy stuff;).

    Can anyone suggest anything?

    Thank you
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    have you unwittingly turned UAC off

    are you using a standard user account or an admin account?
    when you have a standard user account & UAC is turned off, you sometimes get this
     
  3. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks for replying.

    Can you be more specific when you say have I turned the UAC off?

    And when I turn my computer on, It comes up with my account which I have to enter a password to enter.
     
  4. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    I now see what you mean. There is a vertical slider with 4 points. It was at the bottom, and I have changed it to the second from top.

    Apparently that could help?
     
  5. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Update:

    Tried all of them, nothing has worked so far:/.
     
  6. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    What security software are you using? Firewall and other security?

    Norton?
    McAfee?
    Look at all the icons in the system tray of programs that are running and identify them.
    See if there are other security features.

    I suspect that one of them is set to block downloads, or someone has set Windows group policy settings to do so.

    Disable your extra firewalls and AV scanner for a test and then download something.
     
  7. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Im using avast. Its basically the same as Norton. I have done a full scan which took nearly 1 hour and not one thing was detected..
    My Firewall is on, I even turned it off, tried downloading something and it still didn't work!

    And what do you mean AV scanner for a test?

    Sorry, im not amazing with computers but I know the mere basics.
     
  8. foxidrive

    foxidrive Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    793
    Disable it as a test and see if you can download something. Do you use spybot, other antimalware programs?

    Spybot's resident programs can block things such as registry writes - I'm not sure about downloads.
    But the point I am making is if you disable every security program and then it works, you can enable them one at a time to see which one is blocking the downloads.
     
  9. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    The only security programs I have are avast and Microsoft security essentials.

    Avast I only downloaded today and Microsoft security essentials I have had ever since I can remember and I was downloading stuff months and months maybe years before this problem occurred.

    One thing I did notice, I tried downloading steam through Google Chrome and it says the following:

    Security settings on your computer blocked this file.

    I've looked into this and tried lowering my security settings ect, and nothing works.. :/
     
  10. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Never install more than one antivirus at a time on a computer.

    I'd keep MSE and remove Avast with the Avast Uninstall Utility.

    Can you download from Internet Explorer?
     
  11. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    I only had MSE at first. I downloaded Avast because I wondered if MSE wasn't as good and maybe couldn't pick something up..

    And nope. I have three search engines, Google Chrome, FireFox and Internet Explorer.

    ALL three block ANY download I attempt.

    Note: It takes the time to download, for example, 5 minutes to download Opera (search engine) yet it just blocks it when its finished.

    P.s I really appreciate all the help,
     
  12. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    There may be Parental Controls blocking the downloads.
     
  13. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    I only had MSE at first. I downloaded Avast because I wondered if MSE wasn't as good and maybe couldn't pick something up..

    And nope. I have three search engines, Google Chrome, FireFox and Internet Explorer.

    ALL three block ANY download I attempt.

    Note: It takes the time to download, for example, 5 minutes to download Opera (search engine) yet it just blocks it when its finished.

    P.s I really appreciate all the help,
     
  14. Snows

    Snows Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Sorry double post. And no parental controls have even been set up.
     
  15. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    Can you download after booting into Safe Mode with Networking?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086505

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice