1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

cant download SP1

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by arty62, Oct 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    I get the message "Setup could notverify the integrity of Update.inf. Make sure cryptographic services is running on this computer."

    Crypto services is at stop and nnothing I do will get it running...what to do?
     
  2. Ronnie151

    Ronnie151

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    273
    you can order the cd from microsoft for 10.00
     
  3. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Are you downloading the express install or the network install? I have never been a fan of express install. It caused me quite a lot of problems back when win2k sp1 came out. After that I always make it a point to download the network [full] service pack. It can take a while with dial up. If you have cable / dsl, it only takes about twenty min. or so [depending on your dl rate]
     
  4. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Thanks CR....I'llgive it a tyry
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Here is a link for the network install. It is on the right of the page.Link
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    37,983
    Actually this link is better.SP1A
     
  7. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Thanks guys...no joy...still giving the same message...need to get crypto stuff running somehow....rt
     
  8. arty62

    arty62 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2001
    Messages:
    290
    Went into System32 folder, deleted CatRoot2...SP1 installed...joy in the machine now!!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170606

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice