1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't either install Nor uninstall MSE

Discussion in 'General Security' started by Lockeyp, Aug 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lockeyp

    Lockeyp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    I have tried installation & uninstalling MSE for the latest updates neither of them work.

    I have tried to attach a photo of what it looks like to no avail - it downloads but it has the Yellow ! that appears after installation..... So you coulsd say that I have 2 problems


    Lockeyp
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,227
    Do you have another antivirus on board ? You can only install 1 antivirus product.
     
  3. rayacky

    rayacky

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    I am having the same problem as the OP after MSE become unresponsive. Cheers Ray.
    Ps I do not have any other antivirus, unless you mean superantispyware & malawarebytes.
     
  4. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    To help us help you,please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread. You can use the TSG Info to fill in your computer information in your user profile as well.

    Also, if its a brand name system like an Acer,Dell or HP, please post the exact model of the system.
     
  5. rayacky

    rayacky

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.26GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 4
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 991 Mb
    Graphics Card: SiS 650/651/740/661FX/741/760 series, 32 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 38162 MB, Free - 18080 MB;
    Motherboard: Acer, E61ML
    Antivirus: Microsoft Security Essentials, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
    Wow I did that!!!
     
  6. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    rayacky Ray,
    Please start your own post as it is next to impossible to help two in one post.
     
  7. rayacky

    rayacky

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    First Name:
    Ray
    Ok will do, a bit later, Cheers Ray.
     
  8. Lockeyp

    Lockeyp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    MS win XP
    ver 2002 sp3.
    AMD Anthlon64 3700+
    2.21GHZ 3gb Ram.
    Disc A 419gb ...& Disc B 27.8gb.
     
  9. Lockeyp

    Lockeyp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3700+, x86 Family 15 Model 39 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 3071 Mb
    Graphics Card:
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 476929 MB, Free - 429469 MB; F: Total - 78520 MB, Free - 28517 MB;
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd., GA-K8NF9 Ultra
    Antivirus: None
     
  10. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
    Is there a reason you do not have an Anti-Virus program? This could be your problem:(
     
  11. Lockeyp

    Lockeyp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    I was running MSE until the latest upgrade it did not install on further investigation it said that I was missing a component for it to upgrade, so I tried to uninstall it but came across the same thing. I have also tried looking forthe file 'epp msi' to noavail in the meantime I am without a Anti -Virus Program.
     
  12. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917
    First Name:
    Ron
  13. mtzlplex

    mtzlplex Account Closed

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,650
  14. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,239
    First Name:
    Cody
    If the MSE Removal Tool doesn't do the trick, try Revo Uninstaller.

    It's what I use for removing troublesome programs.
     
  15. Lockeyp

    Lockeyp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    664
    ok thanks will do
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105278

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice