Can't enable java

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Shemightbedani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
23
I am using Windows XP. My computer won't let me view Java even though I have it enabled. Certain websites can't be viewed correctly, or it tells me I need to enable Java. I have Active Scripting enabled. I've tried uninstalling Java and reinstalling it again, but it doesn't work. Any idea on what the problem is???
 

Shemightbedani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
23
I've recently updated everything and it's still not working. I'm not sure if it's Java. On Myspace i get this error message:

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Macromedia's Flash Player. Click here to get the latest flash player.
 

Shemightbedani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
23
The first site says I am Javascript enabled and Java enabled.

The second site, under shockwave, I can see the content and it says Installation Complete. Under Adobe Flash Player, it says I need the latest Flash player and Java Script enabled to view this content. But I have the latest Flash player and Javascript enabled!

How do I test this under other browsers?

All the other accounts on our computer get the same result as me, except for one. Under that account, you can view the Flash content.
 

techkid

David
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
2,339
Open Internet Explorer and go to Tools > Internet Options > Advanced. Scroll down to Java (Sun) > "Use JRE (version) for <applet>" and ensure the box is ticked.

Let us know how this goes.
 

Shemightbedani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
23
Techkid, my Java (Sun) > "Use JRE (version) for <applet> box was already ticked.

It is definitely my flash player giving me this trouble, not Java. I went to simpsonizeme.com and it says I need flash player to view the site.

I ran the uninstaller and installed flash again but nothing works. Secunia says my flash player is updated though. When I install flash, the installation completion movie appears and then the window refreshes and it is gone. Though my computer and Secunia says it is installed.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Open Internet Explorer > Tools > Add-ons and look at the entries in the various drop down boxes.

Is Flash there and enabled?

In these screenshots you see it both disabled and enabled.

Also, does it work if you try another browser such as Firefox or Opera?
 

Attachments

Shemightbedani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 7, 2007
Messages
23
I tested it in Firefox and it still didn't work.

I looked under my add-ons and flash wasn't listed. I downloaded flash again, and then it was listed under my add-ons, but once I close out internet explorer and then open it up again, it disappears from the list.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Are you looking at all the lists? There is a "currently loaded" list, and 3 others. Does it disappear from all of them?

Post a HijackThis scanlog.

This issue can also be caused by 3rd party firewalls such as Norton or ZoneAlarm.

Download and install HijackThis using the "self extractor". Run it and select "do a system scan and save the log file". Then copy/paste the contents of the log to a reply

http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top