1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't enable SLI due to ccsvchst.exe

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by WapCaplet, Oct 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. WapCaplet

    WapCaplet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I am running NIS 2010 and haven't really had any problems with it in the past.

    I recently checked my Nvidia settings and noticed that, for some strange reason, my SLI was disabled. I tried to enable it only to have NVIDIA tell me to close the following programs before proceeding:

    CCSVCHST.EXE

    I know this process is related to Norton, but I can't end the process (Access Denied message when trying to kill it in the Task Manager). But NVIDIA won't let me enable SLI while CCSVCHST.EXE is running.

    Help?

    WapCaplet
     
  2. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Have you tried disabling Norton? The ccsvchst.exe process works to display the GUI (Graphical User Interface) of Norton.
     
  3. WapCaplet

    WapCaplet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I'm not sure how to "disable" Norton exactly. I can turn off the Anti-virus portion, or the firewall portion, or any number of "parts" of Norton, but I don't see a way to disable Norton entirely. The option does not exist in the Norton software itself as far as I can see. Can this be done through Services perhaps?
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Start with the antivirus and firewall.

    I don't think you'll be able to stop Norton through the Services.
     
  5. WapCaplet

    WapCaplet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Unfortunately it looks like there is no way to "disable" Norton to the point where ccSvcHst.exe goes away. I have learned that this executable is required to support the Norton GUI. The only way to truly remove it is to uninstall Norton itself. Ultimately it actually looks like this is a problem with Nvidia as their software should not care whether ccSvcHst.exe is running or not. Enabling SLI should not have a conflict with Norton; but it does. Very difficult getting either side to admit it's their problem.

    Sadly, I'm still stuck with 2 GPUs and no way to use them both. Looks like either Norton or Nvidia will have to go. Can't decide which.
     
  6. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,057
    Try stopping the process in the Services.
     
  7. WapCaplet

    WapCaplet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    The Norton Internet Security service cannot be disabled or stopped from the Services area. The application is listed, but the options to Start/Stop the service are greyed out and not available. Even if I try changing the Activation Method from 'Automatic' to 'Manual' or 'Disabled' I get a message saying that access is denied (Error 5).

    I also tried upgrading to NIS 2011 since it's free with my subscription and it was suggested by a Norton rep that this might help. It did not.

    Very frustrating.
     
  8. DerekC

    DerekC

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Just to confirm, you do have 2 video cards in the computer, correct?
     
  9. WapCaplet

    WapCaplet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Lol! Yes, I definitely have two (2) 7900 GS cards. I know I was running SLI a while ago. I only just noticed it was disabled recently, but I honestly don't know how it got disabled.

    Good thing to ask though. I'm sure it's happened to someone before. That would be embarrassing.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/956072