1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant enter BIOS

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ryanmc, Mar 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ryanmc

    ryanmc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I can't enter my BIOS. Whenever i hit alt+F2, I'm asked to insert disk and press enter, I put in my dos boot disk, and hit enter. It takes me to a screen that says Source file not found! What happened to my bios??
     
  2. CouchMaster

    CouchMaster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,303
    Are you sure altF2 is the correct way to enter your BIOs? Some MB's use the delete key, some F1 etc. I question this because it asks to insert a disk.
     
  3. ryanmc

    ryanmc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Yeah, it says it on the first screen that comes up, AWD AwardBIOS (ASUS). And i Did check the manual as well. Also, to add to my post, I can't really use my administrator account in XP, but my guest acct. with no admin. privledges works fine
     
  4. xavier57

    xavier57

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Have you tried by hitting just "F2" without any other keys?
     
  5. ryanmc

    ryanmc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    I don't get it, why would i do that if the manual from my MB say to hit alt+F2 to enter bios?? I don't think that how i get into my bios is the problem, I built this computer and have been in my bios many times using alt+F2. I will try, but i just wonder why??
     
  6. xavier57

    xavier57

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Try another keyboard, maybe either the F2 or the ALT key went bad...
     
  7. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    is the keyboard USB ? . . if so, it will likely not be recognized during boot
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/345168

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice