can't even begin to install CorelDRAW

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

decibelle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
6
I just purchased a copy of CorelDRAW Suite X5. After registering it online, I put the disc into the DVD drive on my XP SP3 desktop to start the installation, but the disc was not recognized by my computer. Just to make sure there was nothing wrong with my DVD drive, I put another three software DVDs into the drive, and they were all recognized immediately. But also, just to push the test a little further, I had my husband try the DVD out on his Windows 7 laptop, and it recognized the disc and asked to start the install, as it is supposed to do. So I can't say what's going on has only to do with the disc, and I can't pin it on my computer, either. I did a Google search on "can't install CorelDRAW," and found a surprising amount of sort of related situations (including one on this forum), but none of them duplicated the problem I'm having. So I'm completely perplexed, and now Corel customer service is closed for the weekend, and I wouldn't even necessarily count on them having an answer. Does anyone have any idea what the heck is going on?

Thanks,
Ellen
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,960
Perhaps autoruns is disabled on your computer?

If you go to Start - "My Computer" does your DVD drive show that there's a disk in the drive? If it does, double-click your DVD drive to access the contents and see if you can manually invoke the installer.
 

decibelle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
6
The problem was that my computer's DVD drive wasn't showing the disc. Thank you for your suggestion, but I found out it was because my drive's limit is smaller than the size of the disc. I was able to install by using my husband's computer to copy the disc's contents onto a thumb drive and then I installed from the thumb drive to my computer.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,960
I've never heard of such a thing before. Are you sure it's not a CD drive as opposed to a DVD drive and the other "DVDs" you tested that worked were actually CDs and not DVDs?
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,960
So how or what is telling you that it's beyond the capacity of the DVD drive?
 

decibelle

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 11, 2012
Messages
6
Someone at the CorelDRAW forum wrote: "The DVD may have a greater capacity than the drive in your computer is intended to support. I'm not sure about X5 but X4 DVD is 6.9Gb and older DVD drives only support 4.7Gb. Or the DVD could be slightly out of tolerance, such that it works on some machines but not on others."

I have installed dozens of programs over the years and never had this problem. The folder I copied from the DVD was 7.25 GB, which is much larger than anything else I've ever installed.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,960
Thanks. You learn something new every day. :)
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
117,960
I have learned that the larger capacity DVD drives support what's called "dual layer" and now that I know what I'm looking for, would you please humour me so we can see if that actually was the problem? There are a couple of ways to find out.

First, please look at the front of your DVD tray on the computer tower. Do you see the letters DL either alone or in combination with other letters (i.e. R DL) printed anywhere on there?

Secondly, please go to Start - Run - type in devmgmt.msc and hit Enter to open the Device Manager. Double-click on DVD-CD-Rom Drives and please tell me what it says there for the device?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top