1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't figure out why

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by upinarms, Oct 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. upinarms

    upinarms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I just bought a refurbished computer and I have tried different boot disks and all I ever get is the c prompt and when I type in format c: i get invalid dos. Unfortunately I don't know enough about dos to go any further. I have made sure that BIOS is set to boot from drive a: I don't know what else to do. Please help
     
  2. ratchet

    ratchet

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2001
    Messages:
    1,546
    upinarms,

    Welcome to TSG.

    You don't want to boot from A:, try IDE or one of the other HDD (Harddrive) settitngs.
     
  3. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    You didn't mention what version of windows was on the PC, but the Windows 98 SE OEM boot floppy will boot most pc's with Win 9x

    http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

    Once you d/l the file, remember where you put it.
    Put a clean floppy in the A: drive
    Go to the file you just d/l'ed and double click on it and let it CREATE the boot disk.

    Once you have the boot disk, place it in the PC you are working on and power up.

    It will ask you iv you want to boot with or without CD support. The first time choose without.

    You should boot to an A:\> prompt.

    Type in the following:

    dir c:
    let's see if it "sees" the C: drive

    IF it recognizes the C: drive then you can proceed with the Fdisk and format.

    If you have any questions about Fdisk or formatting post back.

    Also, if the C: drive isn't recognized, let us know.
     
  4. NiteHawk

    NiteHawk

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,699
    If you are going to Fdisk and/or format the HD, why would you NOT want to boot from A:?? Did I miss something?
     
  5. upinarms

    upinarms Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    I'm just assuming that I would have to boot from the A: because supposedly there is no OS installed. But you are right...when the computer comes on with nothing in any of the drives it shows a Windows 98 screen and then starting windows 98 set up and then there is a c: prompt. I will try what you suggested and let you know. Thanks
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169804

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice