1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't find partition

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by mama, Oct 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mama

mama Thread Starter

We just bought a new Server with Microsoft Server 2003 os. I set it up today. The factory said they would partition the drive for me and I am sure they did but I can't see the second drive. I see only C:\, D: cd rom and A:\
    I am new to 2003 and need to know before Monday morning if possible. can someone suggest how to access the partition?
    Thanks

2. downtime

downtime

Right click my computer, choose manage. Open Disk Management, you'll find details on partitions and sizes. You may have to assign it a drive letter, I did an install yesterday where I had to assign letters to two other hard drives in the machine. It's only the second Server 2003 install I've done, the first was an upgrade, so I can't tell you yet if it's that way by default.

3. mama

mama Thread Starter

Thank you for such a quick reply, I did as you said but I only see c:\, no partitions so I am not sure how to get to the extended partition to assign a letter. Could it be that the extended partition didn't get formatted when they installed the os? I am just grabbing at straws. But thanks for your help.

4. dcramer

dcramer

Have you tried to go into fdisk and see if you can see it in there?

5. Lance1

Lance1

Partition magic is the best tool for finding, fixing and creating partitions. If it isn’t in disk management the partition isn’t there. With Partition magic you can change the size of the primary partition and set the drive letter.

6. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

Is Diskmgmt not showing any free space? Could you post a screenshot of diskmgmt.msc.

7. mama

mama Thread Starter