1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Can't Find Startup Process I'd Like To Disable

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by michaeltee, Jun 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. michaeltee

    michaeltee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    I'm wanting to disable, but not uninstall, a startup process "HPAudioSwitch.exe". I can see it running in task manager but when I right-click "go to services" nothing is highlighted. I've also run Windows Services and can't find it. In short, I've checked all the usual places. It's possible to manually exit the program from the notification tray but I'd prefer to disable or at lease set it on manual start. What procedures could I use to track this down?

    Win10 Home x64
     
  2. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,998
    First Name:
    Allan
    It's probably not a service. An easy way to stop it is to search for the HPAudioSwitch,exe file and rename it to say HPAudioSwitch,exe.bak then it won't run. If that causes an error message let me know please.
     
  3. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,635
    First Name:
    James
    Go to Task Manager, then Startup and see if it's there. If it is you should be able to disable it.
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,315
    First Name:
    Derek
    it uses a scheduled task not a service or start up entry
    Unless it is misbehaving, I would not uninstall it or play around with it. It simplifies using audio on HP laptops a lot easier, especially if you switch between inbuilt speakers & headphones. It also helps control the microphone.

    Why do you want to stop it running?
     
  5. michaeltee

    michaeltee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Hi all, in my case it was taking it upon itself to select undesired sources for no apparent reason. So I was often having to manually switch it back where I wanted it. This is on my HP desktop. I uninstalled it and no longer have those problems. The integrated realtek HD driver seems to handle switching more to my liking. In any case it's available for re-downloading via the HP recovery mgr if needed. Thanks to everyone for the feedback!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211680

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice