1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't fix computer crash

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by sylviad1, Feb 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sylviad1

    sylviad1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    My grandson's computer has two hard drives, C & D. His D drive crashed a couple of months ago and I was able to fix the problem by reinstalling windows xp. However I didn't realize that I had to re-register it and my grandson didn't tell me that he got a message stating that he was running an unregistered copy of windows, so his computer crashed again. However there must have been more to it than that because when we tried to get back into that drive it just kept restarting the computer. I figured he had gotten some bad stuff on that drive, so I did some virus and adware scans and finally was able to get computer to begin to open D, but then I got the message that my copy of windows needed to be registered and did I want to do it now. I answered yes. However all that happened next was just a screen, but no files at all. I tried booting with the xp cd, but no luck at all. So, I formatted the drive, then tried to reinstall, but then I got a message asking for a windows32 driver-hal.dll . Is there anything I can do now except use that drive for storage? I've been reading, after the fact that I needed to remove the partition and reformat the whole drive, is that correct? This computer is an old Sony Vaio purchased in 1997, the c drive has abt 8 gb and the d drive has 32.
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,186
    Hiya

    For the hal.dll error message, take a look at this:

    http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_haldll_missing.htm

    Most of the suggestions point to the boot.ini being wrong. If you're not sure about any on that page, you can post the boot.ini here.

    1. Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
    -or-
    Click Start, click Run, type sysdm.cpl, and then click OK.
    2. On the Advanced tab, click Settings under Startup and Recovery.
    3. Under System Startup, click Edit.

    Then, copy/paste the contents here.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. sylviad1

    sylviad1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    The problem is this. C drive works fine. Now, because I formatted D drive it is empty. All I want to know is if I have to unpartition the drives and start all over. I was originally only told to format the D drive and then re-install xp, but that won't work. The reason I formatted the disk is because I couldn't get into the drive after a message stating that my copy of windows wasn't registered and did I want to register it. The computer was working fine until we forgot to register xp after we had installed it on my grandson's computer.
     
  4. sylviad1

    sylviad1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    [boot loader]
    timeout=30
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /fastdetect
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,186
    When you formatted, did you choose the quick format or indepth one?

    It looks like you have two partitions of XP running. I assme this is your D drive (seperate physical drive, not one drive with C and D partitions).

    Have a look here on formatting with XP:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/313348

    In particular, How to partition and format your hard disk by using the Windows XP Setup program (half-way down)

    Also, for the activation of Windows, you may have exceeded the number of times to activate it:

    http://forums.microsoft.com/Genuine/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=1096355&SiteID=25

    eddie
     
  6. sylviad1

    sylviad1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    38
    I used the full format and I'm thinking that we only have a single hard drive and two partitions. When we bought our computer (1997 sony vaio) it had abt a 4g c drive and my husband believes we then bought a 40g drive and the old drive was removed and the new one was installed and partitioned (8g-c drive & 32-d drive) I have checked out all the Microsoft help files and none of them seem to apply to what's going on on that computer. I think I should be removing the partition and then repartition it, but I don't know how.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you want to reconfigure for a single partition, you'll have to remove both partitions and than install Windows and let it partition the whole disk. There are 3rd party partitioning utilities if you want to go that way. Products like Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 will allow you to manipulate and resize partitions, but XP only lets you create and/or delete them, you can't resize or move them.

    If you want to simply start over, you can repartition during the XP installation process, you would delete all the partitions, then install XP into the uninitialized space, it'll create a partition that fills the disk.
     
  8. gully1419

    gully1419

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    :mad: Hello, I seem to be having this recent problem where, when i use my CD drives - my computer crashes!! :confused: I have two drives and i first got the idea it was the top drive what was faulty soo i started to use the second one and it was still crashing soo now i knw its something up with the computer cos two disc drives dont just stop working...Example...I could be installing a game (world of warcraft) that i have played before with no problems what soo ever but i had to re-install it recently but wheni tryed installing it again, i get the problem im talkin about :(
    if anyone can help, please do :)
    i would appreciate it
    priestley
    (BTW im new to these forums)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - can't computer crash
  1. 8biosdrive
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    493
  2. Tip1721
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    473
  3. osephj
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    648
  4. Harbhajan
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    333
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/542878

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice