Can't get CMOS right

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
I just replaced my motherboard. I now have a ASROCK K7VT4A Pro. I reattached all my old devices, but I keep hanging on startup. It reads:

Serial_Ch0 Master: No Device
Serial_Ch1 Master: No Device

Any help would be appreciated.
 

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
I have two hard drives, a CD drive, a DVD?CD writer, and a floppy.
My hard drives are set up as master and slave as parallel ATA. The same with the CD and DVD drives.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
458
Nothing is sata, right?
Do all 4 drives show up in bios?
Are the pins set to master/slave or CS?
Is the OS already on 1 disk?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
1,930
I would go into the BIOS and disable the 2 SATA drives so the system stops looking for Serial drives.
While you're in there be sure that your PATA drives are set to Auto.
 

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
Right.
Yes, all drives listed in BIOS
Yes, I haven's changed pins since I removed the old motherboard.
Yes, OS is on the master HDD.

Something I'm just noticing, is that none of my changes save to the CMOS. Not time and date....nothing saves. Could it be the battery? Would that explain my problems?
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
458
Your battery may be the problem because if it was working you should be able to save settings.
So your hard drives are set to master and slave and not CS, right? Some mobos won't recognize CS.
 

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
The drive settings are master and slave, not cs. The motherboard I replaced was another ASROCK of similar vintage, but different model. I thought it would be relatively simple, but it might be that starting from scratch is simpler.
I'll try a new battery and let you know.
Thanks for all the help.
 

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
Maybe so. I tried swapping out the battery with an older one that I had sitting around, and there was no sign of life...no boot, no lights or fan. I returned the orginal battery and I back to the original problem.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2005
Messages
11,670
If you can access BIOS, make changes and the changes are not saving it is very probable that the BIOS chip is defective. If the BIOS chip is not soldered to the board, you could pull the chip, and try reseating it.

If you pull the chip and reseat, and if that doesn't solve the problem you MAY just have to buy a new BIOS chip. If the chip is soldered to the board, don't even think about trying to remove it.
 

Just Asking

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 29, 2004
Messages
23
It looks like the chip is seated in a plastic square, but I've never pulled the BIOS chip before. What's the trick?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
58
I used a weird tool that looked like a flat head 2mm screw driver, insert it on the open corner and just move it forward to lift the BIOS chip.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top