1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant get Geforce 2MX to work in my Dell Optiplex

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ATSvox, Sep 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ATSvox

    ATSvox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    HI, I have a Nvidia Geforce 2 MX 100/200 and I cant get it to work in my Dell Optiplex 110 while using windows 2000 (not ME) I have windows XP and windows 2003 also, and I could get it to work with those operating systems. xp and 2003 find the card and installs it by itself, and 2000 finds it, but wont install it, so I went and got a driver from driverguide, and installed the driver, then it got me to restart my comp, and I did, so I unpluged the monitor from the onboard, and put into the Nvidia it didnt work. so I plugged back in to my onboard and went to the device manager, and It said the video card was working properly. Also, windows 2000 wouldnt let me turn off the onboard card... XP and 2003 allowed me. can anyone help?

    Thanks
     
  2. zeddy

    zeddy

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,612
    cant you turn the onboard off in the bios
     
  3. ATSvox

    ATSvox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    nope, but what we did was went and Installed windows server 2003, and now we have the card working... you can turn it off in the display adapters settings... anyways, you wouldnt happen to know anything about why directx 9.0c wont work do you? well its not working for sims 2... what i believe is wrong is it says the DDI version is unknown, and on my other comp it says version 8... dunno waht to do to change it. I think its faulty installiation... but ive tried so many times to reinstall directx 9.0c... still wont work... any help would be great if you know anything. Thanks!
     
  4. prunejuice

    prunejuice

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    3,432
    I'm pretty sure that card doesn't support DirectX 9+.
     
  5. ATSvox

    ATSvox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    it does, it worked on my other computer... right now im trying to get it working on my girlfriends comp... we have the same comp and everything... just she has win 2003 and i have XP, but when i first installed sims and played it, i was running 2003... so i dont know... its something with direct x install
     
  6. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Win 2003? ? ?
     
  7. ATSvox

    ATSvox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    yep... Windows Server 2003
     
  8. Old Rich

    Old Rich

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    10,254
    Ahh Haa . . thought I had missed something new!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/398483

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice