1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant get graph lines to show in Word

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by mygenericemail, Dec 3, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    I have Avery sticker labels I need to print (5164) and nothing I do will bring up the outlines of the stickers on the open word page. I need to be able to see the lines of where the stickers are on the page in order to place the images on them without having to guess and test print a ton of pages, which wastes my time and stickers.

    Does anybody know how to get Avery labels 5164 to show the lines on the page so I know where to place the images on there? No matter what I try, nothing works.

    I have Win 8.1 and MS Office 2013.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    Look for Layout and the click View Gridlines
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,423
  5. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Word only gives the graph lines all over the whole page, it doesn't show the lines on the sheets where the labels/stickers are.

    I've tried the Avery templates and they don't show the lines either.

    I don't know how they expect people to center images or words on these labels when you can't even see where the label lines are on the sheets in these programs.

    The lines showed on all label/sticker templates when I had Win XP, these newer ones don't show the lines.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,423
    mine looks like the attached

    I have also setup quite a few for people for christmas labels - so they do work OK

    might be a setting somewhere

    upload_2017-12-4_15-33-38.png
     
  7. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68

    Yeah!!!! Thats what I'm looking for!!!!
    I have tried several different label types, even non-Avery labels, and I still cannot get the label lines like that!
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,423
    attach your copy of word with the labels template open and saved
    it must be a setting
     
  9. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    This is the word format for the template I have saved....
    Avery Word.png


    This is what I get when I open the Avery Wizard template....
    Avery Wizard.png


    I've gone through every setting on both of these, and the only thing I can get to change is having graph lines show up all over the whole page.
     
  10. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    Post a screen shot of these?
     
  11. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Avery Word graph.png
     
  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    First of all, you need to get to where the labels are shown in a table.
    Then click within the table, and you should see in the Ribbon area "Table Tools", under it click Layout.
    Then on the far left side of the ribbon bar there should be "View gridlines".
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68

    This is what I get when I did that....

    Avery Word table.png
     
  14. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    Now you need to turn off the "Borders" of this new table, as they are on by default.
    Once that is done, you should see the cells with Dashed lines.
     
  15. mygenericemail

    mygenericemail Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    I removed the borders, and all I have left is a blank page with not lines on it at all.
     
  16. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    14,239
    Did you click the "Layout" that is under "Table Tools"?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1200537