Can't get laptop online, unpluged earlier when working fine, now nothing DLink router

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

carolzplace

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
4
I accidentally unplugged my laptop while it was on. Now I can't get on internet. Internet connection says connected to DLink Speed 48 mbps Excellent Connected. It was working fine, now nothing. Called Comcast and they want to charge me cause I have a DLink router and not theirs. Any ideas here? Please?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,917
Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
(For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

Type the following commands:

IPCONFIG /ALL

[Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

ping 192.168.0.1

ping 8.8.4.4

ping yahoo.com

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
 

carolzplace

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
4
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : dell-1u5l2weydn
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Peer-Peer
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme 57xx Gigabit Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-15-C5-B8-00-7E

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Personal Area Network
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-41-93-05-1A

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1490 Dual Band WLAN Mi
ni-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-CF-84-17-0D
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.7
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.15.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 156.154.70.22
156.154.71.22
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 8:43:11
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, January 12, 2011 9:43:11
PM

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping 192.168.0.1

Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping 8.8.4.4

Pinging 8.8.4.4 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 8.8.4.4:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>pingpi
'pingpi' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>ping yahoo.com

Pinging yahoo.com [69.147.125.65] with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 69.147.125.65:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\dell>
 

carolzplace

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
4
It is OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Edition,
Service Pack 3,
Antivirus: INVISUS INVISUS VIPRE, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

Hope that helps.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,917
You have an apparently good IP configuration for a connection to a router. I guessed wrong--D-Link routers usually default to 192.168.0.1, but yours is 192.168.15.1. That is your router, right? You didn't accidentally connect to a neighbor's?

Are you able to access the internet through that router with another computer?

Can you access the internet if you connect dell-1u5l2weydn to the router by ethernet?

What, if any, non-Windows firewall or security suite do you have on the machine?
 

carolzplace

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 12, 2011
Messages
4
Yes, two other computers are connected with my dLink. This one was till I accidentally unplugged it today. I tried using ethernet and couldn't either. I have Invisus. Sent that info in former message. Appreciate your help. Wondering if Comcast has a problem with me having 3 computers online and they are now blocking one?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,917
Uninstall Invisus and try again. If unsuccessful please show an ipconfig /all with the ethernet connected and the pings (but use 192.168.15.1 instead of 192.168.0.1)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top