1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant Get microphone working

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by vaikepois, Jan 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    http://www.klikk.com.mt/index.php?s...oductid=5759&productname=Trust Headset GXT 10

    This is the Headset i have..

    Idk why but i have latest realtek audio manager...

    But for some reason when i plugin my mic and headphones.. headphones work fine.. but microphone is extremly quiet.. and on/off buttom on headset.. for mic on/off i mean.. instead of muting the microphone.. every down i up/down switch it lowers volume a bit..

    Anyways please help me.. i wanna rly get fixed...
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Go to start/control panel/sound.
    Click the recording tab.
    Click on the microphone then click the configure button.
    Click the custom tab and select microphone +20db boost.
    Click apply/ok.
     
  3. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    i tried this.. still too quiet. i need put extremy close my mouth so anyone would hear.. but even if this fixes volume it wont fix switch problem
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Is the microphone actually set as default recording device in the recording tab?
    You can right click it and click set as default or communication default.
    Whichever you need .
     
  5. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    it is -.-
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Go back to the recording tab in control panel/sound.
    Click the mic and click properties.
    Click the levels tab and make sure it is turned up and not muted.
    That's about all I can think of besides a possibly bad mic.
    Oh,if it is a stereo mic,you may need to click the advanced tab
    and select the proper configuration and bit rate.
     
  7. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    -.-pff ive done all you said.. its still quiet and button bugged.. mby i need somekind of driver o.o?
     
  8. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    As long post wont get closed i random post every 2 days or so.
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Yeah,it's ok to bump the post every once in a while.
    I can't think of anything else right now.
    Maybe someone else can.
     
  10. simplefix123

    simplefix123

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    double click the speaker icon in your task bar and be sure all the volumes are all the way up and/or not muted
     
  11. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    -.- Il update my first post about what ive have tried..

    damn cant.. so il update here


    UPDATE-
    Things ive tried..
    About Quiet Volume -
    Checked if muted(which wasent muted)
    Maxed Mic volume
    Enable Boost.
    Still too quiet unless i put it extremly close to mouth

    About Button-
    No Freaking idea whats the problem...
     
  12. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Recently, I hooked up all 4 of my old mikes just to test them on XP, and 3 of them I had to hold against my mouth to get anything resembling audio out of my speakers, the 4th was decent, not great, but I could be 4 inches from the mike and could hear what I was speaking OK. These were old, stick type mikes from 8 or more years ago....I think there must be a large difference in mikes and performance, at least with the cheap stick types.

    I do not have a new headphone set to test with, but I have used them and they are much better.

    The best way to test the equipment is to use them over Yahoo Messenger or any other audio/visual application.....you need to find out what the testing software included with for example, Yahoo Messenger, tells you and the input from the other end of the chat can guide you, too.
     
  13. Gouthaman

    Gouthaman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    See if you can install Skype and test the mic using it. Skype has a really good UI and can easily help you get your mic up and running. :)
     
  14. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    .. well button problem still not fixed..
     
  15. vaikepois

    vaikepois Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    391
    .. yeah only button now bad.. volume is quite nice now
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/974867

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice