1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't get on the Internet!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by xavier57, Jan 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xavier57

    xavier57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Hello!,
    I reinstalled Windows XP, Home Edition, on a Dell Inspiron 5150 notebook. It is connected to a Linksys router and to a Motorola SB5100 cable modem. The cable connection, the modem and the router are working perfectly, it is the connection I am using right now while typing these words. If I connect the same ethernet cable to the notebook, it tells me that everything is OK, that the connection is present and everything seems fine. The problem is, if I try to open either Internet Explorer or Netscape, it acts like if there is no Internet connection at all. What can I do? I have followed the suggestions on the Internet Explorer blank page, but it doesn't do anything. Suggestions, please?:confused:
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    post an IPCONFIG /ALL of a working machine

    and then in a seperate reply post the faulty machine - make sure we know which is which

    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.
     
  3. xavier57

    xavier57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Etaf: These are the two IP configs, the working and the not working:

    Working Internet - Desktop


    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : home

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-6B-CF-51-3C

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 24.138.234.252

    63.245.32.11

    24.138.234.254

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, January 27, 2007 10:39:49 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, January 28, 2007 10:39:49 AM


    Not Working Internet, Notebook:


    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Carlos

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 3:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-0D-E4-21

    I will appreciate your help and expertise... :confused:
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    media disconnected

    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>

    network adapters
    click on the + sign

    post backs whats there

    also any ! X or ?
     
  5. xavier57

    xavier57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    It looks normal, under Network Adapters there is "1394 Net Adapter" and
    "Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller". Each of them has a green icon that looks like a PCI Card. There are no ? or ! signs, or any other signs.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    have you powered everything off and then repowered when you connect the notebook
     
  7. xavier57

    xavier57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    I have tried what you are recommending, but still, I only get a blank page. I am afraid it will only be fixed by completely cleaning and reinstalling Windows XP, but I don't want to go that far unless completely neccesary. I tried to solve the problem by fixing Windows XP using the installation CD...still doesn't work! :confused:
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    goto connections
    right click on the lan cnnection
    whats at the top - enable or disable ?
    then goto
    properties
    post back whats in the "this connection has the following items " box

    you should have TCP/IP in the box
    click on it
    then click on the properties button

    whats under general
     
  9. xavier57

    xavier57 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Thanks for your help. I thought...what if I try to connect the modem using the USB connection instead of the Ethernet? I installed the CD that came with the modem using the USB option, and it works! I am typing using the notebook. Maybe there is something wrong with the notebook's ethernet plug. Again, thanks for your help!:)
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,251
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yep there is smething wrong with the ethernet - it says media disconnected and thats why i posted the qu. in above posts ?

    but if it works and you dont need the LAN - (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/538775

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice