Can't get rid of a dang virus!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

aphidevny

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Messages
62
A couple of weeks ago I found I had a virus on my computer through AVG, but one for one reason or another it told me I wasn't able to place it in the vault, let alone get rid of it. I decided to try out a few online anti-virus demos but to no avail. Then I spotted a thing called Spysweeper because of its apparent ability to remove spyware and trojans. I tried this but all of a sudden my system froze (windows me), and i may have panicked and used my system restore feature to knock it back a couple of days. I then realized i still had the bug and went out and borrowed a friend's norton 2003, but it said i didn't have any viruses (after I removed AVG from my system). Today i reinstalled AVG and there it was again as plain as the zit on the end of my chin. (Trojan horse Downloader.Dyfica.B)....(c:\_restore\temp\A0060562.cpy).............now another friend says to turn off my system restore and that will help eliminate the bug.....is this so?.......or what is my next step please? I've also noticed a lot of pop up boxes lately telling me that certain programs have caused an error in <unknown> and will now close and for me to restart my computer...rather annoying as well. And where the heck to I find out how to turn my system restore off??
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
1.) Get rid of AVG

2.) Get rid of Spysweeper

3.) Reinstall Norton 2003 and do a live update.

4.) Install spybot AND adaware and do an update on both

5.) Turn off system restore after you run each test above.

6.) Take some aspirin ;)

Do you have WinME?
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
I believe you DO need to turn off your system restore, solve the problem and re-boot to start a new restore point process.
If you DON'T, your Virus is still (possibley) in your old restore points.

Hope this makes sense.
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Wet Chicken, you type faster and give better detail than I do! ;)
 

aphidevny

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Messages
62
thanks folks, but i already have spybot and adaware.....i need to find where on my windows ME system i can find out how to turn off my system restore.......and since AVG was the only system able to detect the virus, i wouldn't mind saving it unless it may possibly be a culprit in all this. In that case I will certainly get rid of it.........but thanks for the quick responses,,,,i appreciate it......any more?? :)
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Can't help you with the ME restore process, I don't use ME. :(
Overall I think NAV is a better program. :eek:
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Oh yeah, I almost forgot, you have Dyfica B :eek: This is a pesky little booger :D

Spybot cannot presently detect anything like this, so don’t even waste your time running it.

Go HERE and use Trojan Remover.

Run AD-AWARE from Lavasoft and you should find a registry key named DaFuCa. Delete it!

Before you reboot, turned off the system restore function!

After you’re back up, turn system restore back on, run Norton and AdAware again.

You should be squeaky clean :D



Bassetman I don't think I type faster, I just got here first that's all ;)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Originally posted by aphidevny:
i need to find where on my windows ME system i can find out how to turn off my system restore
MyComputer (right click)>Performance>File System>Troubleshooting :D
 

aphidevny

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 29, 2002
Messages
62
Thank you very much WC and thanks to you as well Bassetman. I think I may have conquered the problem...will let you know in a day or two..........by the way,,,,i have a basset hound myself....named URL (Earl on official forms of course)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top