Can't Get YAHOO to search????

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
Using Win98SE, Netscape 4.7 When I type something in the "Search" (npt location) box, I get nothing...a page where I can set preferences or do advanced search, but no result. This just started...any idea what the deal is on that?
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2003
Messages
209
Is it just Yahoo and Google searches that do not work? Try using www.dogpile.com and if that works then you have the new virus that is out. Let us know.

--Tehon
 

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
dogpile works and I get search results in IE...just not in Netscape 4/7
 

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
Google works too (in Netscape) and I have current .dat files for McAfee and just ran a full scan w/o a virus being found...must be in Netscape someplace??? What next?
 

Miz

Joined
Jul 1, 2002
Messages
2,146
Some have reported success fixing the problem you're having by downloading and running CWShredder. Link to the download is at the bottom of the page.

Others have removed all the entries below "127.0.0.1" in their "hosts" file. Do a search for "hosts" (without the quotes) on the harddrive. The one you want is the one without a file extension. If found, open it in Notepad to make the edits. As usual, to be safe, make a copy of that file somewhere else first just in case you need to put it back it its original form.
 

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
I had a couple of .sam files under "host", but when trying to open in notepad...file not found.

I ran the CW shredder...nothing located.

I am at a rel loss?
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
4,823
First things first, go to this page, download the patch

Then download and run the Qhost1 removal tool

Find a file called Hosts, and delete it

Now go to this page, and download 'Hijack This!'.

Unzip it, launch Hijack This, then press Scan, and press Save Log

This will generate a text file that will list all running processes, all applications that are loaded automatically when you start Windows, and more.

open that file
Go to Edit | Select all
Now click Edit | copy to copy it
Come back to TSG, Right Click and paste its contents here

Someone will be along shortly to help you to determine what needs removing
 

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
Windows is updated, ran Qhost (didn't delete...two files show as archived and I can't open them) and here's the log:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
Scan saved at 09:30:57, on 10/7/03
Platform: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.00 (5.00.2919.6304)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\SYMANTEC SHARED\SYMTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\NPROTECT.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVSYNMGR.EXE
C:\UTILITIES\IAMSERV.EXE
C:\UTILITIES\IAMAPP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSSTAT.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\VSHWIN32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\VIRUSSCAN\WEBSCANX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\NAVAPW32.EXE
C:\UTILITIES\DUNCE.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON ANTIVIRUS\POPROXY.EXE
C:\UTILITIES\ADSOFF\ADSOFF.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NORTON SYSTEMWORKS\NORTON UTILITIES\SYSDOC32.EXE
C:\MS OFFICE PREMIUM 2000\OFFICE\1033\MSOFFICE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPFSTSC0.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HPZSTATX.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETSCAPE\PROGRAM\NETSCAPE.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DLLHOST.EXE
C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\HIJACKTHIS.EXE

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = C:\Utilities\Copernic 2000\Search Bar.htm
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
F1 - win.ini: run=hpfsched
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {7559B76E-0222-4d77-9499-CCE9EB4EDC2F} - C:\PROGRA~1\ADSHIELD.DLL
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\PROGRAM FILES\ADOBE\ACROBAT 5.0\READER\ACTIVEX\ACROIEHELPER.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSDXM.OCX
O3 - Toolbar: Search - {A58686ED-FC46-44C3-95C6-4A812AB776F1} - C:\Program Files\FerretSoft\WebFerret\FerretBand.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ScanRegistry] C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SystemTray] SysTray.Exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton Auto-Protect] C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Dunce] C:\UTILITIES\DUNCE.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Norton eMail Protect] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\POPROXY.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LoadPowerProfile] Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdsOff] "C:\Utilities\AdsOff\adsoff.exe" -startup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AdsOff Startup] "C:\Utilities\AdsOff\reset.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [StillImageMonitor] C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\STIMON.EXE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NPROTECT] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Tweak UI] RUNDLL32.EXE TWEAKUI.CPL,TweakMeUp
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [SymTray - Norton SystemWorks] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [NPROTECT] C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\nprotect.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [ScriptBlocking] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\Script Blocking\SBServ.exe" -reg
O4 - HKLM\..\RunServices: [McAfeeVirusScanService] C:\Program Files\Network Associates\VirusScan\Avsynmgr.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [TClockEx] C:\UTILITIES\TCLOCKEX\TCLOCKEX.EXE
O4 - Startup: Norton System Doctor.lnk = C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton Utilities\SYSDOC32.EXE
O4 - Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\MS OFFICE PREMIUM 2000\Office\OSA9.EXE
O8 - Extra context menu item: Search Using Copernic - C:\Utilities\Copernic 2000\Search Extension.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Add animation to IncrediMail Style Box - C:\UTILIT~1\INCRED~1\bin\WebMenuImg.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Add to &Block List... - c:\PROGRA~1\suppress.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Maintain Block List... - c:\PROGRA~1\maintain.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: AdShield Option &Settings... - c:\PROGRA~1\settings.htm
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Translate (HKLM)
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &Translate Using Gist-In-Time (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: Real.com (HKLM)
O9 - Extra button: AdShield (HKCU)
O10 - Broken Internet access because of LSP provider 'ao2lsp.dll' missing
O12 - Plugin for .bcf: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPBelv32.dll
O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\PROGRA~1\INTERN~1\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
O16 - DPF: {1552B1CD-8CB7-4776-B6CB-16EA461928E5} (Cpuid Control) - http://powe45.vwh.net/downloads/upgradefinder.cab
O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/ansi/iuctl.CAB?1061849784510
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2003
Messages
4,823
Ok, download and run lspfix.exe from here

Run Hijack this and check the following

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://www.yahoo.com/
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =

Click Fix checked

Did you do the search for HOSTS folder?

Which files were showing as archived?
 

Dan Mc

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 8, 1999
Messages
665
OK...did all of that...now I get the same result AND this error message:

NETSCAPE caused an invalid page fault in
module NETSCAPE.EXE at 0187:00409198.
Registers:
EAX=00001214 CS=0187 EIP=00409198 EFLGS=00010206
EBX=00edca10 SS=018f ESP=00b4f3c0 EBP=00b4f4c8
ECX=00000000 DS=018f ESI=00e8c200 FS=68df
EDX=00000000 ES=018f EDI=0526c118 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
8b 11 89 57 14 8b 4b 7c 83 f9 01 7e 19 8b 55 e4
Stack dump:
00e8c30c 00e8c200 00ee8ce0 7802a781 00b4f404 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00ee8ca0 00886f01 60010df8 00b4f53c 00000003 00000008 780401c0

ARRRRGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top