1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Install CorelDraw

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jamesgordon, Jul 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jamesgordon

    jamesgordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I'm running WinXP, SP3
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 4
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 1526 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 38138 MB, Free - 23107 MB; E: Total - 476937 MB, Free - 331540 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc. , 0G5611, , ..CN6986148701AF.
    Antivirus: AVG Anti-Virus Free Edition 2011, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

    Bought Coreldraw X5, and installed it on my Laptop, no probs,
    When I go to install it on my home PC, the Install screen for Coreldraw has buttons, but no text on them, and they move with the mouse click but dont actually do anything . . ideas???
     
  2. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    How did you get the program to install onto your home pc?
    was it via USB flash drive?
     
  3. jamesgordon

    jamesgordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    by using the install disk, and it didn't install, just hangs at a dead corel screen
     
  4. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Okay, so it installed fine on your laptop?
     
  5. jamesgordon

    jamesgordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    yes, it was installed ok on the toshiba laptop, but there must be some feature in win xp that allows program installation that is missing on the desktop.
     
  6. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    I though both computers were running win xp? are they not the same operating system?
     
  7. jamesgordon

    jamesgordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    yes both computers are running win xp sp3

    some part of the op system must be missing . . and I do not have my original XPpro Install disk . .
     
  8. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Have you tried re-installing windows installer from microsoft.com?
     
  9. jamesgordon

    jamesgordon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Yes . . and a whole bunch of other upgrades . .

    I'm really stumped without the WinXP CD . .
     
  10. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    What are the last programs you've installed?
     
  11. gurudeb

    gurudeb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    WARNING: Editing Registry can be dangerous if done in wrong manner. If you are not comfortable with registry editing forget this post. Improper registry edit can crash your system.

    1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.

    2. Expand the following registry subkey:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings\Zones\

    You'll see it before zone number 0, there is a extra (parasite) zone. You should delete that extra (parasite) zone from there.

    That's all! Command buttons will appear
     
  12. shadow6224

    shadow6224

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Why would we want to change internet settings?
     
  13. gurudeb

    gurudeb

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    because that solves the problem stated here!

    by the way it doesn't change the internet settings... it changes (removes) the extra parasite registry entry that is not needed and therefore fixes the problem...
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1006627