1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Install WinXP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Wet Chicken, Sep 8, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    We are trying to install Windows XP but it will not see our SATA hard drive. What would cause this and how should we go about fixing it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    when you first start to install and it says to press f6 to install any 3rd party drivers are you popping in your floppy with the sata drivers
     
  3. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    I tried that, but it only allows drivers from a floppy, and my drivers are on my motherboard CD, which I can't copy to a floppy :(

    I went to the motherboard web site, but I didn't see a listing for just the SATA drivers. Guess I'll have to hunt them down some other way....
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    go to the h/d manufacturers web site for them
     
  5. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    OK good idea :)

    Thanks dai ;)
     
  6. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    Put the drivers on the floppy. When I go to use it I get an error message saying txtsetup.oem could not be found. I don't know where it's getting that file name from, because it has nothing to do with my SATA drivers. It also doesn't give me the option to select setup.exe. So I don't know what I can do now, maybe look for some other kind of drivers :(
     
  7. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    what brand of drive
     
  8. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    It is a 160 Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA drive, which you can see by clicking Here. ;)
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  10. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    There is, and those were the drivers that did not work yesterday ;)

    It just kept asking for that file txtsetup.oem file.
     
  11. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
  12. Wet Chicken

    Wet Chicken Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    10,673
    OK Thanks! We got it ;)

    BTW - I was on the phone today with Microsoft, and they told me that the problem I am having was caused from using Partiton Magic, which causes drive overlay :rolleyes:

    I'll never use Partition Magic again! (n)

    Anyway thanks for those other files :D
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/271512

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice