Can't Install xp pro on my computer!! :( HELP PLEASE!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

relaxdmane

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
8
Hi, my names Neil and I'm from Washington state, Ive had problems trying to install xp pro on my computer. Let's see so far ive tried everything from different hard drives to taking out all hardware not needed. I've even went online and downloaded killdisk to reformat my drives so that they are completely reformatted. Let's see...every time I try to install xp pro this is what i do. First I go into the bios and redirect the the cd to main boot then my hard drive then my floppy, in that order. I reboot my computer with the xp disc in the drive. Following that I create a new partition and begin the install, it installs all of the files it needs to run xp setup, then it comes to the screen that says it has to reboot, it does and then it comes to "hit any button to boot from cd" I dont hit anything. It continues to the next screen, the loading xp screen, and it always stops loading there and freezes:(. If someone can help that would be great! Itz driving me crazy, and I really really want to fix this pc myself, instead of bringing it to a comp shop. Pleas help:) thanks a lot
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
35
Yeah change boot order back or remove CD otherwise it might try repair something from disk that doesn't need repairing.
 

relaxdmane

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
8
i'll try to take the cd out right now thnx alot man, i'll let you know what happens.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
35
Okay, and just out of curiosity, what operating system was running on the machine before you decided to re-format it and start from scratch?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
35
hmm strange, if the problem persists try using a different disc because it might be corrupt disc data
 

relaxdmane

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
8
Ok, so i just went through the same install process, created a whole new partition, formatted the hd, and it installed all the files need to run the setup, it restarted i changed the boot seqence back, and took out the xp pro disk and it still froze on the windows xp screen
 

relaxdmane

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
8
Also i've tried to do this before and, the furthest ive gotten through the setup proccess is to where it asks for the serial number or whatever, but that was like 6 months ago. i've been trying to fix this computer for a long time now, just off and on.
 

relaxdmane

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
8
Thanks to the people who replied, I still havent fixed it, but I am in the progress of finding a new disc thanks a lot!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top