1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Cant log into Belkin wireles modem/router to change settings.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by vxquizit1, Jun 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Belkin model F5D8633-4.
    Windows Xp SP3.

    I just got satellite connected yesterday. Goodbye Telstra wireless.
    I was using the Belkin as a wireless router (turned DHCP off) to give a stronger wireless signal.
    I had turned of DHNS.
    I now need to access it to change the settings to suit the satellite, which only has 1 network socket, to do the same job. Ie: act as a wireless access point/router but I am unable to connect to it.
    Plugged it into the primary network on my computer then went to 192.168.2.1 which is meant to be its address, but just time out.
    Held reset in on the Belkin for 20 secs to reset factory default, but no different.Belkin connected to primary port, not connected to net or anything else..
    Ipconfig /all returns...
    C:\Documents and Settings\vxquizit1>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : rog-beast
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
    Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-CE-26-BD
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.29.135.94
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.252
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.29.135.93
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 61.88.88.88
    192.65.91.129

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-CE-29-FD

    C:\Documents and Settings\vxquizit1>

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Belkin's default LAN address is 192.168.2.1. Either use dynamic addressing on your ethernet connection or set it to be in the 192.168.2.x IP address range.
     
  3. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    After talking to HarbourIT, I seems that I am unable to have 2 computers connect by lan at the same time. What crap. I have to connect the other by wireless.
    I am still unable to log into the modem 192.186.2.1 ?
    May have to ring Belkin next.
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Show for your attempted connection to the Belkin ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  5. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\vxquizit1>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : rog-beast
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI
    Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-CE-26-BD
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.29.135.94
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.252
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 10.29.135.93
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.29.135.93
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 61.88.88.88
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 24 June 2009 11:27:13 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 24 June 2009 1:27:13 PM

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit
    Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-CE-29-FD

    C:\Documents and Settings\vxquizit1>
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I don't understand how you are getting that. Is the Belkin connected to anything else? If so, how?
     
  7. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    My config is..
    Sattellite dish on the roof connected to sattellite modem connected to belkin modem/router with dhns turned off connected to this computer. I can access the net etc no probs, just cant connect another computer to the belkin with getting a conflit. Same address etc. I initially had the tcp/ip set to settings as they set them but even if I set it both computers to to dynamic, I still get a conflict. The satellite router address is 192.168.1.1 if that helps.
     
  8. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    The satellite modem is connected to the belkin via one of the for ethernet ports.
     
  9. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    According to Harboursat, the provider, I need to set the belkin to static ?
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Sorry, I must have misunderstood your first post. I thought you had reset the Belkin to factory default settings. If you do reset it to factory default settings and connect a computer to a LAN port, and connect nothing else to the Belkin, the computer should get an IP address of 192.168.2.2 and you will be able to access the Belkin at 192.168.2.1.

    You can then set it up ...

    JohnWill's procedure (Aug. 30, 2008) for configuring a secondary router as a switch and, optionally, wireless access point follows.

    Connecting two (or more) SOHO broadband routers together.

    Note: The "primary" router can be an actual router, a software gateway like Microsoft Internet Connection Sharing, or a server connection that has the capability to supply more than one IP address using DHCP server capability. No changes are made to the primary "router" configuration.

    Configure the IP address of the secondary router(s) to be in the same subnet as the primary router, but out of the range of the DHCP server in the primary router. For instance DHCP server addresses 192.168.0.2 through 192.168.0.100, I'd assign the secondary router 192.168.0.254 as it's IP address, 192.168.0.253 for another router, etc.

    Note: Do this first, as you will have to reboot the computer to connect to the router again for the remaining changes.

    Disable the DHCP server in the secondary router.

    Setup the wireless section just the way you would if it was the primary router, channels, encryption, etc.

    Connect from the primary router's LAN port to one of the LAN ports on the secondary router. If there is no uplink port and neither of the routers have auto-sensing ports, use a cross-over cable. [You will not need a cross-over cable if one of the "routers" is a computer.] Leave the WAN port unconnected!

    This procedure bypasses the routing function (NAT layer) and configures the router as a switch (or wireless access point for wireless routers).

    For reference, here's a link to a Typical example config using a Netgear router
     
  11. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I reset the belkin ( hold reset in for 15 secs) and then connected it only to my computer and stilled timed out waiting for 192.168.2.1
    Begging to think the belkin may be rs ?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    Yeah, I'm beginning to think the Belkin is asking to be replaced. Did your computer get a good IP configuration?
     
  13. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Sorry Terry.
    Networks are not my strong point.
    Not sure what you mean by good configuration ?
     
  14. vxquizit1

    vxquizit1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks Terry.
    Think I will just replace it.
    Looking a Belkin N1 Vision
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,173
    First Name:
    Terry
    I bought an N1 Vision a year ago because I had a discount. It was crap. Replaced it in early January for the cost of one-way shipping and the replacement has been working fine for 1/2 year so far. It has a newer hardware revision than my first one, so they obviously fixed some things.

    A good IP configuration from a Belkin router will look a good bit like mine ...

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Terry>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DELL4550
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
    on
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-07-E9-A8-97-06
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, June 24, 2009 11:00:03 AM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 26, 2009 11:00:03 AM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Terry>
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/837565

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice