Can't Log into Secure Websites

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
Whenever i try to log into websites like hotmail, and others, i get a DNS error or cannot find server..

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.
.....
.....
....
....
Cannot find server or DNS Error
Internet Explorer

ive tried about everything to my knowledge to fix this prob

i dont have a firewall, antivirus, or virus problems
cleared the temp files, history set security to low disabled
all my sercurity, and enabled all my security
and im just using a personal desktop with 56k
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
So you can browse any old page just fine but you get the error only when visiting a site that requires a logon? Am I understanding it correctly?

First I'd check for the existence of a Hosts file. Click on Start>Find>Files, key in Hosts and press enter. You're looking for a file called just Hosts with no file extension. You'll find a file called Hosts.sam but that's not the problem. If you do find a file called just Hosts, rename it Hosts.old and then try the pages. Be sure to close all instances of IE before you retry the pages.

And if that does no good, see if anything in <a href=http://support.microsoft.com/support/kb/articles/q175/7/22.asp> this</a> MS article helps.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It's also a good idea to remove all temporary internet files through Tools/Internet options.
Now click on 'settings/view files', and delete al cookies.
Be sure you have all your important user names/passwords written down somewhere, before you do that.

Good luck,
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
i found a file named hosts its type is just a file and thats it its 0kb's
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
In that case do try cleaning out your temp internet files and cookies, like I proposed.
It's a good idea to first close IE and OE, and access Internet Options through Settings/Internet.

Greetz,
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Right click on it and select Open With. Scroll down and open the file using Notepad. Is it truly empty or is there data in the file?

If it's empty, do like Tony suggested and delete all of your cookies. You'll only lose userids and passwords for sites that aren't trully secure sites. That would be sites that require passwords but are "http" sites and not "https" sites. You won't lose any userids or passwords for "https" sites since they are stored in the registry and not in the cookies.
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
cleaned out my temps


the file is empty i have an app dllhosts and a lotus type file Hosts and lmhosts

looks like there samples
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Did you delete the Cookies like Tony suggested or just the TIF(Temporary Internet Files) files?

Start>Settings>CP>InternetOptions>DeleteFiles. Confirm the deletion and then click on Settings>ViewFiles. Now click on Edit>Select All and press the Delete key.

Now try those sites.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Just noticed you have a "Lotus" types Host file? If it's name is Host.sam then just ignore it. It's not the problem. The others you mentioned aren't the problem either.

If it is named just Hosts with no extension and it's in the c:\windows folder, do this,

Single left click on that Lotus Hosts file to highlight it. Now hold down the Shift key and Right click on that "Lotus" Hosts file. Select "Open With". Scroll down and select Notepad to open the file. What does it contain?
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
That's ok. The cookie files will be rebuilt as you revisit the sites. 900 is way too many to have. Go ahead and delete them.
 

Habez

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 10, 2001
Messages
80
still cant log in
u reAD that article i may want to do that wsock as a last resort its not to much fun messing with a 2 year old file (havent reformatted in 2 years)
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
What version of Windows are you running? Depending on the version, it's easy to extract a new copy of that wsock32.dll file. Also be sure you don't find any dups of that file that are not in the System folder at c:\windows\system. If you do, rename them to .old as the article suggests.

Also what version of Internet Explorer?

To get the exact version number for IE do this,

In IE click on Help>About. The version number will be something like 5.00.xxxx.xxxx ....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top