1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't log to web host

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by zzz, Sep 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zzz

    zzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,459
    Hi,

    I can't login to my Web Host's cpanels (control panels). I have 2 Sites and 2 Hosts but can't access either. I can get to the login page, but when I login, I get a 401 (Not Authorized or Access Denied).
    It worked fine before.
    I have tried on 2 PC's and a MAC (even had a friend try it on his computer). Tried it on IE (3 versions) and Mozilla 6 and 3.

    I recently installed- uninstalled Zone Alarm??
    I reformatted (clean).
    A thought just came to me as I write...Do you think I should reinstall Zone Alarm?

    I'm stuck!
    Hope somebody can help..
    Thank You,

    zzz
    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Did this problem only begin after you installed - uninstalled ZoneAlarm? It sounds to me like a cookie or privacy header issue that very well have occured while ZA was installed. What I'm not sure about is why it still occurs. :confused:

    What version of ZoneAlarm did you install....Pro trial?
     
  3. zzz

    zzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,459
    Hi BillC,

    I downloaded the free one.
    Uninstalled w/ uninstaller. Then reformatted.
    I only installed it on one computer. (No Network to my other computers.)
    Being an electrician I would be looking at my telephone service about now! But that doesn't make sense (but what do I know?)
    One of my hosts I only got this week. (I thought that might work, and I wanted a new host anyway). No.
    Then I got a new ISP. No.

    Thanks for reply,
    zzz
    :(
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    normally with a 401 access denied it is due to 2 things. incorrect username or password. (check whether caps or lower case)

    or

    the web host expects you to use a certain dial up & prohibits from other non specified dial ups

    I would try and contact them for help and advice
     
  5. zzz

    zzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,459
    Hi dvk01,

    I did ask them...no answer; that's why I got the new Host..
    I have used the same name and password for a year. (lower case).
    Linux Host.

    Thanks for reply,
    zzz:confused:
     
  6. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    I'm still unclear as to what might be causing your problem. I did find a page that might help, but I'm not sure. It dvk01 is right on about the 401 error....I thought at first it was your cookie settings causing the problem. Have a look at this link
     
  7. zzz

    zzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,459
    Hi BillC,
    Just to let you know.. I am running WINME and that ISS option doesn't exist (at least not in the same place as 2000).
    (I did check my security settings and they are Default).
    I'm still poking around but here's the hitch...my computers are not connected, so why should the settings on one affect the others. Only one can connect at a time (w/ it's unique settings).
    I'm thinking it's down the line...(note: "thinking"!) Hey, I really don't know.
    Is it possibly a telephone thing (I'm on dial up)? Should I get a new telephone connection? They installed a new box outside not long ago when my telephone died.
    Thanks for helping,
    zzz
     
  8. zzz

    zzz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,459
    Hi all,
    Got it fixed.
    My new host sent me a new password and it worked.
    My old host still doesn't work, but I'm dumpimg them anyway (no help).
    I want to thank you for your help!
    Hope I can help you sometime.
    Have a Great Day,
    zzz:D (y) ;)
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/164545

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice