1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't login with my administrator password

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Aarvin, Nov 13, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aarvin

    Aarvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    My laptop ran into some problem and started to automatic repair.
    But after that it asked for administrator password.
    When I am entering it, it's not accepting it.
    I tried every thing i can..
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    Is this Windows 10 ? With an MS Account sign in? If so you can go online to outlook.com and reset the password
     
  3. Aarvin

    Aarvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    I tried it.... But it didn't help any
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    So explain further. You were able to successfully change the password and Windows still don't accept it ?
     
  5. Aarvin

    Aarvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    The pc ran into problems and started automatic repair .then it asked for administrator password.
    When it is not accepting it, I changed the password.
    After changing though it's not accepting it and automatic repair couldn't complete
     
  6. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    Well, Windows is not running so it is relying on an old copy of the password. How long ago did you change your password? Maybe wait till tomorrow and see if it can fetch the new password from online.
     
  7. Aarvin

    Aarvin Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    So can i try with old set of passwords?
     
  8. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,821
    Sure, try those.
     
  9. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,313
    First Name:
    David
    You might even just use the enter key?

    You can not change a password without using the old one, how are you changing this password?

    Note, the Administrator password will not be the same as any of your Admin user accounts.
    If you did not assign a password to the Administrator account when Windows was set up, then it is most likely just the "Enter Key".
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219045

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice