1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't open any browser, game and God knows what else

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by X-Ter, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. X-Ter

X-Ter Thread Starter

I was happily surfing the net (on my laptop) this morning until my Firefox crashed. This has been happening ever since I started playing an online game and it takes up about 500mb of memory sometimes. :confused: Anyway, I decided to force close firefox and start a new one. It asked if I wanted to restore previous session etc so I decided to start a new session instead. After that, it didn't open at all. I tried opening internet explorer and that did not start either. Luckily, Opera seemed to be working so I used that instead.

I was using Opera until my cousin came round. He wanted to play a game (Football Manager) and when he opened it, it didn't come up with the game, only a black screen. Then I decided to open another game (pro evolution) and it seemed to be checking the dvd drive, but after that it just didn't open. We tried opening the game several times, but it just wouldn't start. So I opened Task Manager... or rather tried to and after several "Ctrl + Alt + Del"'s it finally opened and I closed the games manually (for some reason they were listed on the processes but weren't opening).