1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't open anything ----side-by-side configuration is incorrect

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by necrovamp, Apr 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    OK, well this started today, probably something I installed idk.

    Whenever I try to open program I get the error. side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application log for
    more details.
    To be more specific, it's anything that was not already open at the time this started.
    So, mozilla, and some other random programs are no problem, but for example, these programs would not open.
    winrar
    system restore
    regedit
    event viewer
    dxdiag
    And even I tried to plug something in, I got an error about device detection

    So, ok, no idea what the problem is, no specific solution found online, I resorted to safe mode.
    I restarted, and I couldnt log on, I'm assuming because of winlogon.exe or whatever program windows uses to log me in.
    OK, so now I cannot even get to the operating system
    I decided to check out the windows repair menu.
    Startup repair found no problems, ok, so I hate doing this but I decided to system restore to last week using the repiar menu.
    Restore completed!
    I still cannot log in though, it did not seem to help.

    I'm am now running on my backup windows xp OS, and am unable to get into windows 7 pro x64

    If there is anything I can do to fix this, please let me know.
    So the most I can change is anything from the repair menu, and I can manage files from this OS.
     
  2. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
  3. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Try running chkdsk first.
    As an alternative,I would try Windows Repair(not startup repair)
     
  4. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    kk, I ran chkdsk, I fixed a few things but no luck
    I ran sfc /scannow and got this response “there is a system repair pending which requires reboot to complete.

    Also, I am running these commands from cmd prompt in windows recovery menu.

    But I still cannot log in, this is the message I get when I startup windows in safe mode or regular.
    " Interactive logon process initialization has failed. Please consult
    the event
    log for more details. "

    this always comes up. If i click OK it just comes up again.


     
  5. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Try windows repair if you have a Win 7 CD
     
  6. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    I installed win7 with that digital river stuff, no cd :/
     
  7. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Bad luck.
    I dont know much about them, but still...
    Do they give you an ISO Image to download ??
     
  8. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    nope it was an exe, after you downloaded it and started the setup it copied the rest of the needed files to the hard drive and went from there

    *edit* I'll see if I can get ahold of a windows 7 disc

     
  9. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    I have windows 7 pro, my friend has a windows 7 ultimate disc, would that work for trying repair?
     
  10. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    ok, Well I used it, and hit system repair, and got the same system recovery menu that I've been using from advanced startup options. [​IMG]

    Startup repair and system restore did not help
    I didn't have and backup images. for windows complete pc restores.
    I used command prompt to run the commands you said earlier


    Tell me, am I doomed to reinstall? and redo everything :(, what a hassle..lol
     
  11. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
  12. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    I wish I could do that, but I can't even do step 1.

    Step 1
    Start the Windows 7 and log on to administrator account


    But yeah, I read up on this problem, it's been around since vista. Something to do with a bad c++ install. Some people can get it fixed if it only disables a few of their programs, but people in my situation, are doomed.
     
  13. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    BTW,where do you live?
    The name of the place is TN,
    what is its full form?
    Can you perform an upgrade?
    Since upgrade preserves your app data,documents and all your persona stuff
     
  14. necrovamp

    necrovamp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Tennessee, USA
    Can't perform an upgrade. It told me I couldn't use the windows 7 ultimate disc to upgrade, I had to use the windows anytime upgrade app. That's built into windows 7, and since I can not log in to windows 7 :/.
    :/

     
  15. antech

    antech Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,427
    Thats a BAD NEWS.
    Wait until someone more experienced than me looks into your problem.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918119

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice