1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't open attachments in AOL ...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by shebe, Jan 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shebe

shebe Thread Starter

Good Day,

After networking 3 pc's together with a wired Linskys router BEFSR41 (2 desk tops and a lap top and all three are running WXP) everything seemed to be fine.

Then my roommate tried to open an attachment in her email. It works fine in Hotmail, but her AOL email gives her the following message: (name of attachment, amount of bytes) then DL time (tcp/ip) <1> BTW - She can send attachments and they seem to work fine, it just seems to the getting... that is the problem.

So now after looking over AOL's site and realizing I am an AOL noob, I was hoping one of you kind people my have a clue and maybe a way to resolve this issue.

Any ideas they would be most welcome.

2. Elvandil

Elvandil

What file type is the attachment? Is she downloading the attachment to the desktop (or other folder) or opening it from some other location?

3. shebe

shebe Thread Starter

Well, I've sent mpeg, jpg and ASF as attachments to her AOL account and at the same time her Hotmail account. There was no problem with Hotmail everything opened fine.

Unfortunately, the same can't be said for AOL. All it does is give the attachment's stat's like bytes and name. Then it says: DL Time (TCP/IP) (sometimes it's up to 26 minutes.) ...There is nothing to click on to load or open.

Two things: She can upload files (Mpegs and jpg) without a problem and if she is receives a link to Youtube it will play. (Not sure if that means anything.)

Hope this helps. I really appreciate your time.

4. Elvandil

Elvandil

I wish it did help, but no bulbs lit up.