1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't Open HP Image Zone Plus!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by aamaandaa, Oct 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. aamaandaa

    aamaandaa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I recently took some pictures with my digital camera and would like to transfer them on to my computer. I usually never have problems with HP Image Zone Plus, but now everytime I try to open it, I get a message saying "font 'arial' doesn't support style 'regular'."
    I have no clue what this means.
    Is it fixable?
     
  2. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    You might not have that font available in your fonts folder or it has become corrupt. I would try replacing/reinstalling that ariel font.
     
  3. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    Welcome to the TSG Forum

    Have you tried to hook up the camera via USB (or read the mem card) ...
    and read/transfer the Images using Windows ... not HP Image Zone ??
     
  4. aamaandaa

    aamaandaa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    I transfer pictures by putting the memory card in a slot in the computer tower, then open HP Image Zone and transfer from there. I can't find the USB anywhere.

    How do I go by replacing/reinstalling that Ariel font?
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    Go to "My Computer" > C: Drive > Windows > Fonts ...
    Do you see these Arial font listings ??

    Any need added ??
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    I've removed My HP Image Zone a long time ago .. It's not needed .. and only causes problems.
    I suspect your problem is NOT missing fonts .. But Image Zone.

    When you insert the card ... Go to "My Computer" > click on your Card > open the folder ..
    You can get your pictures from here .. and erase the old pictures.

    Do you see your Images when you get to your card this way ???
     

    Attached Files:

  7. aamaandaa

    aamaandaa Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Hmm, okay. I tried to access the Font folder, but it just froze my computer.

    I tried inserting the card and accessing the pictures through My Computer and it worked!
    This way is a lot faster and easier than using Image Zone Plus!
    Thanks a lot for your help!!
     
  8. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    I think it's simpler also .. And I refuse to let any program organize my photos for me.

    If you're in need of a good Viewer and basic Image editor to replace HPIZ ..
    and/or Windows Image n Fax Viewer ...
    I use the freeware Irfanview ... http://www.irfanview.com/
    It's very popular here at TSG

    Viewing the font folder should not have froze your computer.
    Perhaps this might be an indication of your original problem.

    If you didn't want to do this manually .. Reluctantly, I was going to suggest to remove n reinstall HPIZ next.
    But I really didn't want to go that route.

    Holler if there's anything else we can help with.
     
  9. fairnooks

    fairnooks Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5,251
    Yes, a system freeze when trying to open the fonts folder is worrisome especially related to the original error. If you use a word editing program can you use all the fonts? Especially the arial ones. If that causes problems and if it hasn't been too long that this first occured, a system restore to a point just previous to the problems could set things straight again. I mention it now because in a month it could be too late for that option if there is a larger problem.
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,966
    First Name:
    Jay
    Good Point .. Maybe we should checkout the Fonts.
    aamaandaa .. Do you have M$ Word ??? ... or Works ??
    I wonder .. if we made a pdf with the Arial fonts ... would this checkout the fonts ??
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Can't Open Image
  1. Gerlee
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    441
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/644504

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice