1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't open hyperlinks in Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by scalexandru, Aug 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scalexandru

    scalexandru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I encountered this problem some while ago and I can-t seem to get to the bottom of it. The hyperlinks I create in a sheet of an excel document will not open. The links are made to other files on my computer and although the address is correct I can not access them. Help please...
    I have reinstalled the office and I have upgraded the IE to 6.0 with all features and still northing... :((

    I didn't have Zip instaled on this PC but I archived the necesary file in a rar archive and changed the extention from "rar" to "zip" so that the sistem would accept my file...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,760
    do you have a firewall??

    make sure you have not denied permission for Excel to access other files or the internet.


    otherwise, zip the file and attach it to your post, so we can see if the links are done correctly
     
  3. scalexandru

    scalexandru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I didn't have Zip instaled on this PC but I archived the necesary file in a rar archive and changed the extention from "rar" to "zip" so that the sistem would accept my file...
     
  4. scalexandru

    scalexandru Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    I do not have firewall instaled on this PC...
     
  5. RandyG

    RandyG

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,760
    ok, well I suppose you could have also just saved the file as a normal xls, and then just renamed the file to say txt instead of xls, and I could change it back when i look at it.

    either way, when you post a reply, don't use the quick Reply at the bottom of the thread, but click the Post Reply button, and under the are you would type your response, there is a Manage attachments section. Upload the txt file there.
     
  6. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,731
    did you upgrade? If so, try Ctrl+Click
     
  7. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,447

    With IE 6.0, I always used Shift + click. Especially when using any type of ad/popup blocker(s) and/or internet security software. I'd also clear all your cookies as a routine precautionary measure, it never hurts.
     
  8. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,731
    Sorry, Zack. What I mean is this....

    Office 2000 came out with automatic hyperlinks when you type them...
    And you just clicked on them to go there.

    Office 2002 came out with requiring that you hold the Ctrl key while you click to follow the hyperlink OR you could change the setting...
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/263805