1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't open important programs like firewall and anti-virus, help!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ikke777, Apr 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    I'm using sygate firewall and avira anti virus. They should startup at startup but they don't, I've tried starting them by hand but they won't. I've reinstalled sygate firewall, but it still doesn't start. Ive tried upgrading & reinstalling avira but the installation process just stops & disapears. I've tried to install AVG anti virus, but the installer crashes during extraction. I've tried to extract with winrar but the process crashes (that's a first; winrar never crashes!)
    I've reactivated window firewall, but as no icon has apeared in the sys tray, I'm not sure it's working.

    I have checked all program files directories and the boot sector for virusses with an online anti-virus prog: BitDefender, everything is clean.

    I think the trouble started when a fuse blew in my house. But the computer din't seem to have any actual physical damage, so I don't know....
    But needless to say windows was not shut down properly at that point.

    specs:
    Win XP SP2
    Celeron 2.40GHz
    1,25Gb ram
     
  2. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,501
    Do you have the XP install CD. Do not worry I am NOT going to suggest a reinstall
     
  3. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    I have an install CD that includes SP3

    Yes, I would appriciate not reinstalling!
     
  4. How'dIdoThat

    How'dIdoThat

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    First Name:
    RWF
    You need to get SP3 as Microsoft Support for Windows XP with Service Pack 2 (SP2) will end on July 13, 2010. I think what Mac was going to have you do is run system file check (SFC). To run SFC click Start / Run and type in sfc /scannow ( make sure to leave a space between sfc and /scannow ) Then click OK. Have your installation cd handy as you will be asked for it if SFC finds missing files.
     
  5. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    23,501
    That was good, yes I was.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,900
    First Name:
    Frank
    ikke777:

    Sygate Personal Firewall 5.6.2808 was the last version released over 5 years ago before Symantec bought out Sygate. It hasn't been updated since then, so I don't know why you're using it.

    Uninstalling and reinstalling different anti-virus programs can cause problems and conflicts when remnants get left behind. Some anti-virus programs, such as McAfee and Norton and AVG, have a removal tool which should be used.

    You might consider deleting the buildup of junk in these 2 temp folders:

    C:\WINDOWS\Temp

    C:\Documents And Settings\(Username)\Local Settings\Temp

    and then restarting. It sure won't hurt anything.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    de and reinstalling the anti virus I did as a solution, the problems were there before that.
    And ofcouse I used the proper programs for that.
     
  8. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    I've run the scan but I didn't have the right disk and there was no report at the end, so it wasn't terrible helpfull.

    will installing SP3 now help matter or make them worse?
     
  9. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Try a system restore> worth the try if you can
     
  10. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    where do I find that?
     
  11. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
    Re start your computer , while its re starting keep tapping F8 key this will take you into the safe mode. you should see a display on the page to click no to do a systemrestore click on that and choose a restore point before the problem happened
     
  12. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    can't run a system restore, no restore points
     
  13. ikke777

    ikke777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Oh! I think I did that already
    because the system hung at some point
     
  14. How'dIdoThat

    How'dIdoThat

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    471
    First Name:
    RWF
  15. frankjohn

    frankjohn

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    2,798
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - can't open important
  1. BML
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    909
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914690

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice