1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't open one website

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by ls6pilot, Feb 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ls6pilot

    ls6pilot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks in advance for your help.

    There is one website i cannot open. tried diiferent computers (same router). one wired one wireless

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Owner>tracert www.schwab.com

    Tracing route to www.schwab.com [162.93.218.34]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms rnxn4ps.rnxn4ps [192.168.0.1]
    2 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms 10.158.128.1
    3 9 ms 7 ms 7 ms 172.23.64.69
    4 7 ms 7 ms 8 ms 172.23.64.1
    5 20 ms 19 ms 19 ms 12.91.100.157
    6 65 ms 76 ms 63 ms cr1.attga.ip.att.net [12.122.141.186]
    7 62 ms 63 ms 64 ms cr2.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.28.174]
    8 62 ms 87 ms 72 ms cr1.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.1.209]
    9 64 ms 66 ms 63 ms cr1.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.122.28.182]
    10 58 ms 61 ms 57 ms gar3.phmaz.ip.att.net [12.123.206.133]
    11 12.86.103.150 reports: Destination net unreachable.

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\Owner>

    Appreciate any help
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    78,186
    First Name:
    Terry
    I get 162.93.227.34 instead of 162.93.218.34

    That may be simply because we are in different locations, or it may mean that whatever DNS server you are using is having a problem. Try using a public DNS server.
     
  3. ls6pilot

    ls6pilot Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    I think that may be the uk address. tried the google dns with no improvement. any other ideas
    Thanks
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,796
    That's a secure site. Having trouble with any other secure sites?


    Not being able to connect to a certain website means your external IP address is blocked in some way.

    Typing your address in the following Web proxy should let you access the site:

    http://www.hidemyass.com/proxy/


    You could try turning your modem off and on again, and it might give you a new IP address. However, in many cases, it will need to be shut down a lot longer than that, like overnight.

    A complete power cycle can also be tried:

    How to Power Cycle


    Do you have a static or dynamic IP address?
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090738

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice