1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

can't open pdf files!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by ldcarden, Sep 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ldcarden

    ldcarden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    When I try to open a pdf, all I get is the little Adobe icon on the screen. I can't open Adobe from Programs and I can't get the Adobe website to open. I went into downloads.com and tried to download Adobe Acrobat 6 and it won't download. What is going on? Is there another program I can download other than Adobe Acrobat that works just as well? Help.
     
  2. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    Sometimes the easiest way to correct Acrobat Reader problems is to uninstall current version and reinstall the newer on.

    Below the first article is a link to list of Uninstall Instructions for all versions and OS's. Select your current configuratation and follow the instructions.

    Article One Listing of Uninstall Instructions

    The next article lists common problems and suggestions associated with Install of Acrobat Reader 6.0

    Article Two Problems Suggestions Downloading Acrobat Reader

    Last Article is the Download Link
    Article Three Download Link

    Hope that helps you let us know.

    Dave
     
  3. ldcarden

    ldcarden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    I can't open any of those three links! I've had this problem before with other links--not all the time and not all links, but lately, every link that has anything to do with Adobe. What is going on? I uninstalled Adobe from Control Panel.
     
  4. Davey7549

    Davey7549

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    11,584
    ldcarden
    the links should have little to do with the installation of Adobe on your system. Have you tried deleting all your temp internet files and also trying a repair of IE?

    Dave
     
  5. ldcarden

    ldcarden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    30
    Yes--I've deleted all temp internet files and done the IE repair. No effect.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/166348

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice