1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't open web sites - but read on!

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by spainrico, Aug 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Genuine sites (www.issuu.com www.bookarmy.com) that I used to access a week ago now will not open, they time out.

    They are still online (friends can access and read on!)

    Tried with both IE and Mozilla same result
    Tried without any firewalls running - same result
    Tried resetting router same result
    Cleared caches same result
    Tried setting IP addresses same result.
    and everything else I can find by google searching over the last week!!!

    Now the good bit
    Using a 3G USB plug in gizmo (got it from Orange as backup if fixed line goes down) on the same computer - opens the sites instantly.

    So Guys - how do I get back to accessing the sites using my fixed line config?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    some make and model information
    also how you are connected up , lan, usb, wireless, modem. router etc etc

    can you post ipconfig /all and try pinging the sites as follows

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    ------------------------
    from the faulty machine
    can you do the following tests when its working and then repeat them all when disconnected

    Post back the results of all the test - clearly labeled which is which - ie connected OK and disconnected

    its important to do all the ping tests

    1) Ping the default gateway
    2) ping google.com by the name
    3) ping google using IP address

    all details below


    ipconfig /all

    TWO Methods to do that - some people have problems with ONE----

    ONE ---------------------------------
    start
    run
    cmd
    ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    TWO -----------------------------------------------

    Start, Run, CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.


    NEXT lets see if you can get out onto the internet with both names and IP's - its possible the IP number you get back on the first test is different to the one I post {I'm in UK} so use the number you get instead of mine

    ------------------------------------------------
    try ping the name and then the IP see below

    start
    run
    cmd

    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping {the default gateway ipaddress you got above }


    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping google.com
    C:\Documents and Settings\wayne>ping[You may get a different number from the above test - so use that number ] 64.233.187.99
     
  3. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Ok:prt 1
    [​IMG] Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\rob>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Configuración IP de Windows

    Nombre del host . . . . . . . . . : robpc
    Sufijo DNS principal . . . . . . :
    Tipo de nodo. . . . . . . . . . . : mixto
    Enrutamiento habilitado. . . . . .: No
    Proxy WINS habilitado. . . . . : No
    Lista de búsqueda de sufijo DNS: home

    Adaptador Ethernet Conexiones de red inalámbricas 12 :

    Sufijo de conexión específica DNS : home
    Descripción. . . . . . . . . . . : Conceptronic 54Mbps USB adapter
    Dirección física. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-5A-4D-9A-87
    DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguración habilitada. . . : Sí
    Dirección IP. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10
    Máscara de subred . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Puerta de enlace predeterminada : 192.168.0.1
    Servidor DHCP . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Servidores DNS . . . . . . . . . .: 192.168.0.1
    Concesión obtenida . . . . . . . : viernes, 07 de agosto de 2009 17:40:
    29
    Concesión expira . . . . . . . . .: sábado, 08 de agosto de 2009 17:40:2
    .txt
    sorry running Spanish windows!
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    try the ping
    also
    ping 192.168.0.1

    and post back results

    what does this say
    DHCP habilitado. . . . . . . . . : No
     
  5. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Intel processors dual core
    Fast braodband internet, running 1 PC hard cabled to router, mine on wifi link via conceptronics usb device. (Neither PC will access these sites)

    done the ping tests but having trouble cut and pasting.........working on it!
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    OK

    can you post the results of both machines, copy them to workiong machine via flashdrive using the 2nd method
     
  7. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\rob>ping 192.168.0.10

    Haciendo ping a 192.168.0.10 con 32 bytes de datos:

    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64

    Estadísticas de ping para 192.168.0.10:
    Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
    (0% perdidos),
    Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
    Mínimo = 0ms, Máximo = 0ms, Media = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\rob>
    Microsoft Windows XP [Versión 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\rob>ping 192.168.0.10

    Haciendo ping a 192.168.0.10 con 32 bytes de datos:

    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64
    Respuesta desde 192.168.0.10: bytes=32 tiempo<1m TTL=64

    Estadísticas de ping para 192.168.0.10:
    Paquetes: enviados = 4, recibidos = 4, perdidos = 0
    (0% perdidos),
    Tiempos aproximados de ida y vuelta en milisegundos:
    Mínimo = 0ms, Máximo = 0ms, Media = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\rob>
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    thats ping yourself

    ping 192.168.0.1
     
  9. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    incredibly I just cut and paste the other ping results!
     
  10. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    sorry ignore last post

    incredibly I just CAN'T cut and paste the other ping results! it won't work...
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    they are all 192.168.0.10

    can you do 192.168.0.1
    and the others listed above
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,967
    ok
    can you tell me if - for each ping

    1) they timeout or
    2) you get somethig like the ones you posted
     
  13. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    No they definitely do not time out they successfully ping!
     
  14. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    192.168.0.1

    pings ok too - I just can't cut and paste the results here
     
  15. spainrico

    spainrico Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    sorry maybe I confused you. We have 1 PC hard cabled to the router and mine via wifi link - neither can access the sites I mentioned. THe only time it works is when I connect my PC in a different way - NOT via the router/fixed line but via 3G dongle (which USBs in and connects via mobile phone type SIM card)
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/850074