1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Can't overclock through dell bios.....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ibetyouluvthis, Nov 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    I have a Dell Inspiron 531.
    I'm trying to overclock my processor but the dell bios wont let me.
    How do i fix?
     
  2. blaze_spirit9999

    blaze_spirit9999

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    It is better if you note down the necessary specification so that tech guy can have more understanding about your system.:)
     
  3. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    All "mass producers" such as Dell, HP, etc. use proprietary BIOS's so their machines cannot be over clocked.
     
  4. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Yup. Title says it all. You can't overclock through Dell BIOS. There's no fix, other than building your own system. Dells suck anyways ;)
     
  5. blaze_spirit9999

    blaze_spirit9999

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Wait, then my Acer M1610 also cannot overclock ???????? I planning to overclock it next month:mad:
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,126
    The above is correct. Just about all big box systems do not have a fsb adjustment hence no overclocking. Just think about it for a min; if you were hp, dell, etc would you want someone overclocking your systems?

    There is a fix for some dells that use asus boards however the fix entails a modded bios and comes with a LOT of risk. An incorrect bios mod will render your board junk [or at least in need of a new bios chip]

    FWIW I have done a few bios mods and it actually worked out well however I do not recommend doing this unless you have a high level of computer skill.
     
  7. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    Removed by mod
     
  8. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    How high do you think i could have overclocked my AMD 2.6 X2?
    Thinking about upgrading to the 3.1 X2
     
  9. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    Possibly it would've gone quite easily to 3.2 or a bit over, with a bit more work, maybe to 3.5 or over. With even higher risks and more cooling, near 4 GHz. Or then it could've failed during the first 200 MHz of overclocking. You never know.
    I don't think there's any point upgrading, you won't notice about any difference with the 6000+ model instead of 5400+.
     
  10. blaze_spirit9999

    blaze_spirit9999

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Sorry, just want to ask a question, is there other ways to overclock my M1610 (Acer) ? change the BIOS may work ????
     
  11. BG-0

    BG-0

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    6,922
    May work, may make the BIOS chip useless... Unabling you to use the mobo.
     
  12. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,126
    Read post #6.
     
  13. blaze_spirit9999

    blaze_spirit9999

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    How to do that???? or i need to post in another thread??
     
  14. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,126
    OK, this is one of those things that if you have to ask what a bios mod is, the task is beyond your understanding of computers. I am not trying to talk down to you however you need to understand that modding a bios requires a high level of skill. One wrong keystroke while doing the mod and you render your system unbootable and in need of a new bios chip.

    As I posted I have done a few of these for people and they worked well however I do not recommend that you do this task.

    FWIW if you want to overclock, then buy a motherboard that supports overclocking.
     
  15. ibetyouluvthis

    ibetyouluvthis Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    213
    okay just finished chatting with dell tech support.
    They said it can be done.
    They gave me the link to a file to download which will flash my bios......
    ...But
    The tech rep said i void my warranty when i flash the bios.
    So im kinda scared here.
    what to do......?
    anyone done this before?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/772486

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice